We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrated with specials board” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dock

The Dock
500 W Lake Dr, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-9778
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Wanchese, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frustrated with specials board”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I enjoyed my drinks and appetizer but some lunatic kept spraying the chalk board with the specials. George kept going nuts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST MUSSELS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you really want the taste & flavor old TRUE LOCAL Montauk, do yourself a favor & have the mussels at The Dock! They are with out a doubt the BEST. Just leave the whining & crying at home or you will be given the boot. Not joking. The Dock takes no prisoners, & wont be shy in telling you that you are annoying them. LOVE this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect local place...hipsters stay away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We've had drinks at the bar on several occasions and have enjoyed the wit and wisdom of George...tonight we had dinner there and it was great. A true local gem...the unhamptons atmosphere which has always drawn us to Montauk. Our waitperson Laura flew about the place and took care of everyone. We just had burgers after a week of seafood and they were great. Thanks to George and The Dock for keeping the Montauk in Montauk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quite a Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family and I had just spent a day hiking through Camp Hero and were very hungry. After reading the reviews of "The Dock", I steered us over there. Everyone was apprehensive at first by the look from the outside but we were surprised by the service and food inside. Two burger platters, one BBQ chicken wrap and one soft-shelled crab sandwich was our order. Our food came quickly and was VERY tasty. The person who ordered the soft-shelled crab sandwich said it was the best thing they had ever eaten. Lots of local folk seem to eat there. Don't let the outside scare you off. We particularly loved that no screaming kids and people on cell phones were allowed. What a breath of fresh air!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fried Oysters,Peanut butter pie-we are in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

After many summers in montauk, we were told by a restaurant aficionado that the dock was little known to tourists and was one of his favorite off the beaten track restaurants. No cell phones, no screaming children, crazy signs on the walls, strange objects hanging inside and ourside, what a fun place to hang out. We were back for dinner this week and had the greatest plate of fried oysters and homemade potato chips we had ever eaten. For dessert, if it is on the menu, do not pass a chance to have a huge slice of peanut butter pie-one of our all time favorite desserts.
You also can't go wrong with the tuna dinner or almost any of the daily specials that are always fresh and deliecious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dock also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.