We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joni's

Joni's
34 South Etna Plaza, Suite 9, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $0 - $8
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Nanuet, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spotty but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I like going to Joni's. But it's not consistent. We like the comfy decor. Big wide table with big seats and nice flowers. Nothing special but simple nice. We like the stools looking out the window and the tables outdoor. We like that it is usually busy.
The first day I ordered the Buddha Burger which tasted excellent. My wife ordered the breakfast wrap on a whole wheat wrap. It showed in a flour wrap. The women argued that that's what my wife ordered. She always has whole wheat. The women actually went into the garbage to look at the receipt. which confirmed my wife's was correct. (Kind of tacky) Her wrap was good but kind of small for the price and how much was in it.
The next day we went back because my burger was so good she wanted the Buddha burger for herself. When my wife's burger showed up it was not on the 7 grain roll that was advertised and tasted so good. The women told my wife they were out of it. Well that's fine but how about telling us when we ordered it? She also forgot the tahini sauce. My coffee the day before was tasty and hot but the next day it was cold. My “Curry Up” wrap was good but could have been a lot better if the mango chutney was spread out through the wrap and not just put in one spot.
Oh, and the first day I picked up my order and had to convince the women I hadn’t paid. Not a bad thing but kind of funny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Little Different...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Joni's is a great spot to grab a quick breakfast or lunch. They have a great selection of interesting/healthy food items, drinks including a large menu of smoothies. The quality is excellent. Try the whole wheat waffle with strawberry butter. This place gets very busy at peak times, so best to visit off peak, otherwise you risk waiting upwards of 20 minutes for your food. There is very little inside space to eat, so plan on taking out or using one of the small picnic tables directly outside. The occasional celeb spotting is also a plus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast; Blah Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Egg breakfast wraps were delicious, filling and healthy (perfectly made and grilled, no microwaving). The smoothies and juices were also terrific. My friends and I all LOVED breakfast so much that we went back for lunch. We all found the veggie burgers and salads to be disappointing. The inside atmosphere seemed like it was attempting to be cute, but didn't quite make it. I'd recommend picking up your breakfast wrap (easy to eat) and smoothie and heading for the beach.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a don't miss in Montauk. If there is a wait, stay in the line! The breakfast is amazing (and we went three mornings in a row). Organic, fresh, handmade and SO many options!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wraps are great and coffee really good. Service is fast and efficient. Recommend for breakfast and lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joni's also viewed

 

Been to Joni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.