We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay beach, pretty rocky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gin Beach

Gin Beach
End of East Lake Dr., off Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY
631 324 2417
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 things to do in Montauk
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay beach, pretty rocky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I went to this beach because of the good reviews I read here but didn't love it. I have 2 small kids and even though we had Keens, they really needed water slip ins instead. I did notice the posts about the parking permit but forgot so we got a parking ticket for $150 and we had 2 cars there. Not a great experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rocky Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Protected beach offered less surf and was perfect for the grandkids. There are a lot of rocks on the beach. There are public toilets. You would need a parking permit. Our Hotel supplied it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great beachglass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

wonderful quiet beach to hunt for sea glass but don't forget to wear your sneakers! on the Sound side so the waves are minimal. good for small children

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Early morning solitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

WeI love going to Gin beach in the morning with a cup of coffee, watching the fishing boats and ferries head out to sea. There is limited parking and restroom facilities at the beach. It's a beautiful place to walk , the landscape changes as the weather, some days calm and tranquil and others winds and waves.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gentle waves perfect for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This beach has very gentle waves so great for kids. Sandy generally with some pebbles/shells but they are not an issue. There is a restaurant within walking distance of the parking lot. There are outdoor showers next to the restrooms in the parking lot. There were lifeguards in July but no concession stand on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gin Beach also viewed

 

Been to Gin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gin Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.