We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our Favorite Beach in Montauk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gin Beach

Gin Beach
End of East Lake Dr., off Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY
631 324 2417
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 things to do in Montauk
Attraction details
Huntington Station, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is our Favorite Beach in Montauk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This has been our favorite beach for over 30 years. There are usually less waves and the walks on the beach with dog or kids is always fun, whether it be looking for beach glass, walking on the jetty or watching the sun set from the jetty. The views are spectacular - with the inlet on one side and the ocean on the other. All the boats make there way from the ocean back to their home port through the inlet. The local restaurant, the Inlet, is our favorite, so that is an added plus at the end of the day

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Gin Beach faces the north fork so the sun is at your back. That being said, bring your beach umbrella. Sun is sun.

Very small waves so it's great for the kids. The beach is a bit rocky and not nearly as pretty as the beaches in town.

Worth a try with the kids. Parking permits a must.

Bathroom facilities are a nice amenity

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Clear Water, Small Waves, Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A quiet beach with calm water and smaller waves than other Montauk beaches.There are restrooms and showers.Permit is required for parking.Lifeguards on duty.We love it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Harptree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely bay beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

beautiful views and quiet. No major waves & good swimming beach.
Near restaurants and has clean rest rooms and showers

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Other Jetty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fun and a different view. You can camp there, but we just went for the drive and walked the jetty. It made for some nice photos at sunset and we watched the parade of boats.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gin Beach also viewed

 

Been to Gin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gin Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.