We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gin Beach

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gin Beach
End of East Lake Dr., off Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY
631 324 2417
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Montauk
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love this beach. It's on the north shore so it's a lot less rough than the ocean side. The waves are small and calm and it's a great place to bring the kids and not worry about such forceful waves. Although it does have a lot of small rocks so bring your water shoes!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can spend the rest of my life at this beach and never get bored. I'm sure I wouldn't be so happy in the winter or during a hurricane; well anyway....this beach is next to the channel where the boats come in. It's less rough than by the lighthouse and has the most spectacular sunsets. A must to stop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.I.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easy access and small waves, good for families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice wide and easily accessible beach, on the Sound, next to the inlet for Lake Montauk. You will need a parking permit, which was supplied by our hotel. There is a small funky market next door with some essential items a few other non-essentials. There is usually a food wagon in the parking lot as well. Nice scenic view of Gosman's Dock to the south and you can watch the excursion and fishing boats going past the inlet.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Gin Beach not all that much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Gin beach is on the northern reaches of Montauk. It's not on the ocean. It's a small beach that features a long rock pier where many people fish from looking across to the Montauk Harbor area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Gin Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love the beach and ocean, but if you want to have a pleasant day at the beach, try Gin Beach, but you will need a pass to park your vehicle. Most of the hotels have them but might require a small fee, which it is worth the day out at the beach. Great for families with children as there is a life guard. Bring the family, bring the food and enjoy watching the boats go into the harbor. It is a great time, I love spending my days there when I am on vacation in Montauk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gin Beach also viewed

 

Been to Gin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gin Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.