We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park
Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11754
631 668-2554
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Montauk
Type: State Parks, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent a gorgeous fall day at the park and it was great! There was a campground there but they must have been all inside. No one on the beach. It was a perfect day! Great facilities - restrooms, playground, etc. Don't think I'd like to be here in the summer with all the crowds, but I truly enjoyed my solitude at the beach.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hollywood, florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent view of one of the most special places on earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This park, which permits camping by tent,car, trailer,etc. is located atop an overlook which permits views up and down the length of the ocean and beach. Its proximity to Montauk, Amagansette and East Hampton, make it an ideal and central location for everything the Hamptons has to offer

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“help! Can't get reservation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tis year I was fortunate to visit my cousins here one day this summer. I used to LOVE it here but I have not been able to get a reservation for years! What is the deal with furiously calling and going on line and anxiously typing away in a panic at EXACTLY 8:59 am, PRECISELY 9 months before your vacation week, and being informed at 9:01 am that all sites are sold out. Not only is that a logical and physical impossiblity, but (since Hither Hills is a government facilty) deserves to be investigated by the State DAs office. An accountability of the fees, pricing, and trickery by "Reserve America" need to be delved into as well. REMEMBER...This OUR park (NYS taxpayers) NOT RESERVE AMERICA'S. Any hints? How do you all get sites every year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beach front camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was so cool. We stumbled upon this and wished I was a camper! What a treat to be practically on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Hither Hills Get a permit to camp or just stay the day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hither Hills State Park offers camping by lottery. The camping area is on the beach separated from the ocean by sand dunes.

This has facilities and a place for refreshement. This is a fine park for a day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hither Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hither Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hither Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.