We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent view of one of the most special places on earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park
Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11754
631 668-2554
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Montauk
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
hollywood, florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent view of one of the most special places on earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This park, which permits camping by tent,car, trailer,etc. is located atop an overlook which permits views up and down the length of the ocean and beach. Its proximity to Montauk, Amagansette and East Hampton, make it an ideal and central location for everything the Hamptons has to offer

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“help! Can't get reservation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tis year I was fortunate to visit my cousins here one day this summer. I used to LOVE it here but I have not been able to get a reservation for years! What is the deal with furiously calling and going on line and anxiously typing away in a panic at EXACTLY 8:59 am, PRECISELY 9 months before your vacation week, and being informed at 9:01 am that all sites are sold out. Not only is that a logical and physical impossiblity, but (since Hither Hills is a government facilty) deserves to be investigated by the State DAs office. An accountability of the fees, pricing, and trickery by "Reserve America" need to be delved into as well. REMEMBER...This OUR park (NYS taxpayers) NOT RESERVE AMERICA'S. Any hints? How do you all get sites every year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beach front camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was so cool. We stumbled upon this and wished I was a camper! What a treat to be practically on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Hither Hills Get a permit to camp or just stay the day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hither Hills State Park offers camping by lottery. The camping area is on the beach separated from the ocean by sand dunes.

This has facilities and a place for refreshement. This is a fine park for a day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wonderful, well maintained, oceanside. We had a great time. Nice to hear the ocean all night instead of generators running. Although, for the amount of money this campground brings in, the bath houses in the campground area could use an update to provide easier maintenance and better usability for the camper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hither Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hither Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hither Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.