We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“help! Can't get reservation!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park
Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11754
631 668-2554
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Montauk
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“help! Can't get reservation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tis year I was fortunate to visit my cousins here one day this summer. I used to LOVE it here but I have not been able to get a reservation for years! What is the deal with furiously calling and going on line and anxiously typing away in a panic at EXACTLY 8:59 am, PRECISELY 9 months before your vacation week, and being informed at 9:01 am that all sites are sold out. Not only is that a logical and physical impossiblity, but (since Hither Hills is a government facilty) deserves to be investigated by the State DAs office. An accountability of the fees, pricing, and trickery by "Reserve America" need to be delved into as well. REMEMBER...This OUR park (NYS taxpayers) NOT RESERVE AMERICA'S. Any hints? How do you all get sites every year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beach front camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was so cool. We stumbled upon this and wished I was a camper! What a treat to be practically on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Hither Hills Get a permit to camp or just stay the day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hither Hills State Park offers camping by lottery. The camping area is on the beach separated from the ocean by sand dunes.

This has facilities and a place for refreshement. This is a fine park for a day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wonderful, well maintained, oceanside. We had a great time. Nice to hear the ocean all night instead of generators running. Although, for the amount of money this campground brings in, the bath houses in the campground area could use an update to provide easier maintenance and better usability for the camper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Distinctive beach for pre-season quiet walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

upside was no crowds- pre memorial day. downside, it was kinda windy and cold. upside, there are plenty of campsites pre-season. also a fine example of a dunes beach with attendant distinction beach flora, good explanatory plaques about the plants and shells you may find.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hither Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hither Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hither Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;