We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“help! Can't get reservation!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park
Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11754
631 668-2554
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“help! Can't get reservation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tis year I was fortunate to visit my cousins here one day this summer. I used to LOVE it here but I have not been able to get a reservation for years! What is the deal with furiously calling and going on line and anxiously typing away in a panic at EXACTLY 8:59 am, PRECISELY 9 months before your vacation week, and being informed at 9:01 am that all sites are sold out. Not only is that a logical and physical impossiblity, but (since Hither Hills is a government facilty) deserves to be investigated by the State DAs office. An accountability of the fees, pricing, and trickery by "Reserve America" need to be delved into as well. REMEMBER...This OUR park (NYS taxpayers) NOT RESERVE AMERICA'S. Any hints? How do you all get sites every year!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beach front camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was so cool. We stumbled upon this and wished I was a camper! What a treat to be practically on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport NY
Level Contributor
202 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Hither Hills Get a permit to camp or just stay the day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hither Hills State Park offers camping by lottery. The camping area is on the beach separated from the ocean by sand dunes.

This has facilities and a place for refreshement. This is a fine park for a day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wonderful, well maintained, oceanside. We had a great time. Nice to hear the ocean all night instead of generators running. Although, for the amount of money this campground brings in, the bath houses in the campground area could use an update to provide easier maintenance and better usability for the camper.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Distinctive beach for pre-season quiet walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

upside was no crowds- pre memorial day. downside, it was kinda windy and cold. upside, there are plenty of campsites pre-season. also a fine example of a dunes beach with attendant distinction beach flora, good explanatory plaques about the plants and shells you may find.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hither Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hither Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hither Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.