We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surfside Inn

The Surfside Inn
685 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
+1 631-668-5958
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

we dined on the front porch of this wonderfully converted typical Montauk home. The view of the ocean was incredible and you melt with the sunset. The food was prepared to perfection, we had the filet mignon, nice timing between appetizer and main course - not rushed. White table cloths yet comfortable. Our waitress was very personable and provided helpful history and touring info for our visit :) She seemed to as happy for us to be there and genuine with her well wishes. Desert, key lime pie and deep fried cheese cake with vanilla ice cream, was delis with healthy serving; coffee was fresh. Highly recommend the Surfside Inn for their view and dining experience :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    5
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Harptree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful View with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

beautiful view and outdoor tables. Food is average and overpriced.
Parking is good. Very casual and family friendy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I just loved the duck potatoe skins. The food is quite good and the service is excellent. A must go to when I am in Montauk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Throwback, In a Good Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were 6, and we were hungry, having just been ejected from another spot with a long wait. We landed here and it was perfect! The dining room was open with fantastic views of the ocean. Our waiter Richard was gracious, informative and added so much to our enjoyment of the meal. App highlight was the fried calamari and the duck potato skin. I had a cool shrimp dish with grits. My husband enjoyed a hearty plate of ribs. Drinks and wine were not outrageous. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Not the hippest place in Montauk, but with an actual ocean view, who cares?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice location across from beach in Montauk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a nice family dinner here. Traditional decor & crowd. No trouble getting a Saturday night reservation. Chef was very nice & trained in New Orleans so some menu items with a southern style. Large portions. Baby back ribs a signature dish. Live background music.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surfside Inn also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surfside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.