We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Montauk Notable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surfside Inn

The Surfside Inn
685 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
+1 631-668-5958
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Montauk Notable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Had not eaten here for years (no real reason why we stopped going) but a few friends started to recently recommend so we revisited. Good food friendly staff kind of a homey vibe. Would be good for lunch as well killing an afternoon on the outdoor deck. It's not directly on the ocean (across the Old Highway) but high enough so you can see the surf. We were fortunate to stop in when there was a six foot September swell and a handfull of surfers out front with the waves to themselves (rare in Montauk these days now that scene-sters and hip-sters have descended in masse on the town. Note - all seem to have purchased longboards and bumbled into the water during the summer months)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Solid standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pleasant ocean side restaurant with dependent if not overly creative food. Service is always excellent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithtown, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this great quality restaurant right next door to where we were staying. mmMy husband's striped bass & my fluke were impeccably prepared - the best we've ever had - nd we fancy ourselves experts in seafood. Portions were good, though all in all the check $$$ kept if from being 5 stars for the entire experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food with Ocean Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had the best tasting, freshest sea bass,at the Surfside Inn. They served this dish, with an interesting mango salsa. Their New England clam chowder was also very delicious. Our server was fun, he was from the islands, making this restaurant very relaxed, with a beach feel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, very good food but better exists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Went here on my first night in Montauk, it was really good. I shared strawberry field salad and lamb pasta with a friend -- both were very, very good. It is a very mellow, laid back place (like you are eating on a porch overlooking the ocean). The quantities were very good. Prices were expensive. That said, I thought the restaurants I went to the next two nights (Swallow East and Harvest on Fort Pond) were better.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surfside Inn also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surfside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.