We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid standby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surfside Inn

The Surfside Inn
685 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
+1 631-668-5958
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
373 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Solid standby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pleasant ocean side restaurant with dependent if not overly creative food. Service is always excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
smithtown, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this great quality restaurant right next door to where we were staying. mmMy husband's striped bass & my fluke were impeccably prepared - the best we've ever had - nd we fancy ourselves experts in seafood. Portions were good, though all in all the check $$$ kept if from being 5 stars for the entire experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food with Ocean Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had the best tasting, freshest sea bass,at the Surfside Inn. They served this dish, with an interesting mango salsa. Their New England clam chowder was also very delicious. Our server was fun, he was from the islands, making this restaurant very relaxed, with a beach feel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, very good food but better exists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Went here on my first night in Montauk, it was really good. I shared strawberry field salad and lamb pasta with a friend -- both were very, very good. It is a very mellow, laid back place (like you are eating on a porch overlooking the ocean). The quantities were very good. Prices were expensive. That said, I thought the restaurants I went to the next two nights (Swallow East and Harvest on Fort Pond) were better.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Had one of the best, if not the best, lobster rolls here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank roknrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surfside Inn also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing