We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location on Salivar's dock...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock

Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock
470 Westlake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954
631-668-6252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“New location on Salivar's dock...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Ate on the back porch, we had sushi, chowder, fried shrimp, tuna and fish parmesan. Drinks and spot is good. Don't recommend the Parmesan, but everything else was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is the one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

West Lake is easily the best restaurant in Montauk right now, maybe on Long Island. Spectacular food prepared by a unusually talented chef/host. Reasonably priced 5 star cuisine without a pretentious atmosphere or overbearing staff.
Our waitress was 110% as was everything about West Lake. Ask Larry for his opinions on wine pairings...you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible. Worst lobster roll I ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place was recommended by someone who worked in the kitchen there we bumped into, so thought it would be good
I can honestly say it was the worst lobster roll I ever had. And the most grossly over-priced at $22 or something !!!!
Fries were stone cold - had to send them back. Lobster was like something from a can..
Terrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always great and visit their sister at Salivars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We come every year and this place does not disappoint. Mako kebabs and tilefish entrees were the best we have had. Ate at their sister the next nite in the harbor at Salivars....better yet! Swordfish and crusted tuna entree perfectly prepared. Only disappointment here, when we did not want potatoes, they charged us $3 extra to swap in green beans....petty!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location, fun vibes, fantastic sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the first season that the Clam & Chowder House is at its new location at the old Salivar's site. They did a fantastic job renovating and the roof top bar is so great that I hate to tell you about it because then it might get crowded. There are 3 eating areas but with no reservations you will definitely have to wait but it is more than worth. The sushi is one of the best I have eaten at any sushi restaurant and the clam chowder is outstanding.I ordered something other than sushi the other night and while it was good it wasn't as outstanding as the sushi so that is the reason for 4, not 5 stars. he bar is fun and the drinks are substantial. The restaurant next door has a live band that can be heard from the Clam house. In the two weeks that I have been at my summer home I have eaten here four times so I definitely recommend it to families with children, couples or groups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock also viewed

 

Been to Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.