We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grea sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock

Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock
470 Westlake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954
631-668-6252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grea sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Loves the sushi, the clam chowder and the blackened tuna. The wedge salad was just an "eh" (a creative idea - it came with a few slices of watermelon - that just did not work with the salad dressing they chose). And the pina colada I ordered was not good at all. Expensive mistakes (the drink and the salad were over $20 together), but the rest of the meal more than made up for it. Go early if you don't want to wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the greatest restaurants in Montauk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's a little off the beaten path, but worth going to. It's right off the fishing dock so it has the freshest seafood ever, greatest clam chowder and awesome sushi - don't miss out on this gem of a place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scenic and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Believe it or not, I've had trouble finding fresh fish in Montauk. I get a lot of frozen-at-sea, which shocks me. I was delighted when the waiter told me the fish and chips consisted of fresh, local-caught fluke. The fish actually came breaded, rather than battered, which was sort of unusual, but it was absolutely delicious. While the dish was 20 bucks (feels kind of high), they gave me three large fillets and a mound of made-to-order potato chip french fry hybrid...things, which were also wonderful. The space for seating is plentiful, which is nice as a lot of places in Montauk tend to cram you in like sardines. Everything is casual/no dress code, but with a price slightly higher than most casual dining places. We had about a half hour wait for a table for a party of five.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grease House”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This shack was recommended by a friend who gave it high ratings. The place is right next to a fishing dock. Nice atmosphere for kids who loved watching and feeding fish. It all ends here. We ordered a cheeseburger, macaroni and 3 soft shell crab sandwiches plus tap water. The bill came to $145.00. GIVE ME A BREAK! No Waldorf Astoria this is. The cheeseburger was greasy. The soft shell crab sandwich were fine fare for the under 40 crowd. However those near or close to retirement age better have their cell phones handy in case an emergency call to the local cardiologist is in order. The greasy topping on the sandwich would give any artery near the heart the shakes. With plenty of terrific spots around town serving dishes at reasonable prices, do yourself a favor and stay away.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
1 review
“It rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

love the sushi food was cooked very well and the staff is very attentive i had a young lady very sweet and helpful

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock also viewed

 

Been to Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam and Chowder House at Salivar's Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.