We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fare ... just wish the service wasn't going downhill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest on Fort Pond

Harvest on Fort Pond
11 South Emery Street, Montauk, NY 11954
631 668 5574
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
NYC, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great fare ... just wish the service wasn't going downhill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Gorgeous setting with excellent fare. Dined numerous times over the past 2 years and while their food has remained a solid "best in the area", their service has fallen off considerably. Be prepared to ask for fresh silverware between courses and have runners "toss" family sized platters of food on your table regardless if your appetizers remain or not. In our case, if it weren't for some swift moves by my wife juggling 3 plates of mostly consumed appetizers to accommodate the runners insistence to drop steaming hot serving plates of entrees on the table ... well it would not have been a pretty scene. The wait staff appears to be interested, but there's no longer any coordination of service which has slowly deteriorated from somewhat fine dining to a dockside self serve. Too bad really, considering just how well the food is prepared. I'm hoping the owners get a grip before the new "fast food service" becomes a permanent feature.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    94
    27
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
freeport
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Supurb Asian Fusion and Sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful service, meal and great conversation with diners at the next table- all capped off by a magnificent sunset on the pond

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice last night in Montauk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were eating late and got seated right before 9:30 when they stop seating. But once we sat down the waitress pressured us to order. Really? you sat us so doesn't that mean we get to enjoy the meal without being rushed? I am not a big fan of the family style ordering for 2 people. We don't really like the same things but were forced to share (and compromise). The atomosphere was warm and the bread with parm and oil were really delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen Phillips
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow this was good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had dinner here last week and it was just terrific. It's Family style and there were just 2 of us, but we persevered. The service was excellent and everybody in that place seemed like they were in a good mood- so it made for good eating. We shared the portobello mushroom salad with goat cheese- which honestly is mostly green salad. The waitress told us so before we ordered so we were not surprised when it arrived. It was delicious and there actually was plenty of the shroom to go around. Then we shared the sea bass and that was just amazing. I never think I am going to fill up on fish but it was that family style portion and I could not finish it. We were too stuffed for desserts but we saw plenty of people wolfing them down. They all looked delicious and again- substantial. Really good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Risotto?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I read amazing reviews about Harvest on Fort Pond and decided to make a reservation. My boyfriend and I started with the lamb ribs. They were really tough so we sent them back, which I never do. For our main course we ordered the local fish served with what they called risotto. I am a lover of risotto, it has always been creamy, homey, and buttery! What we received was not creamy at all. It was actually molded into a perfect circle, something risotto should not be able to hold its shape as.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest on Fort Pond also viewed

 

Been to Harvest on Fort Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest on Fort Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.