We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Parade Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East By Northeast

East By Northeast
51 Edgemere St, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-2872
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East By Northeast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt 27
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Post Parade Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My hubby and I headed out to Montauk to view their St. Patrick's Day parade. Friends had recommended a stay at the Stone Lion Inn--rooms adjacent to East by Northeast (highly recommended, see separate review!) After the parade (which was somewhat of a long day), we decided to take the very short walk over to the restaurant. What a panoramic view of Lake Montauk--it was breathtaking! We were fortunate that the sun had not yet set--and were gifted with a lovely view of all nature has to offer. The service at the restaurant was very accommodating and we did not want for anything. The bread and butter was divine--save the diet for another day. Friends had recommended the duck tacos...but since they were on the "starters" menu, I thought perhaps they would not be enough. In addition to the duck tacos, I ordered some yummy lemon shrimp and mashed potatoes. My beloved had some Montauk chowder (which was DE-LICIOUS) and cod tacos (very good). After the bread, I would have been FINE with "just" the duck tacos...they were hands down the best thing I've tasted in a while. The shrimp and potatoes were also over-the-top great, so we brought them home in a doggy bag (the lucky "doggy" being our 16 year old son!)

The folks who operate East by Northeast also run the restaurant Harvest. The next time we are in Montauk (which I hope is soon!), we will most assuredly check out Harvest. A brilliant location, good service, and great food--you can't go wrong at East by Northeast!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Got a burger that I'm pretty sure was a frozen patty-way overdone. Definately frozen fries. Pricey drinks. Only perk was the sunset view of the lake. Atmosphere of the place isn't bad, just the food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice setting and decor, fine food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The atmosphere and ambiance are lovely. ENE is located right on the pond, so there are some nice views out the window. The food itself was good, but not amazing. I would not steer someone away from ENE, but you can probably do better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Quiet dinner watching the sun set”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went here mid-week in mid-September. Opted for the $25 4-course dinners. Food was terrific, as was the view from our table by the windows. Wait-staff was over-the-top friendly and helpful - everybody working there seemed to actually be having as good a time as we were.

Have been here twice before and were not too impressed - third time was the charmer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Spacious, delicious waterfront dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went here one night after eating at Harvest. Both places have excellent food--with a creative twist. I loved the side of sesame spinach. The difference here was while Harvest is smaller and more romantic --though food is served family style, ENE has more space is slightly more expensive--and more people bring their kids! (Though I confess, they were all well behaved)The hostess was great--she seated us at a table near a family--but the family left a few minutes later. That was insightful.
The waitress was helpful and friendly. A great dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East By Northeast also viewed

Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to East By Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East By Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.