We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East By Northeast

East By Northeast
51 Edgemere St, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-2872
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East By Northeast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 86 restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt 27
Hicksville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband & I went there for dinner, during our stay out in Montauk, on a recommendation. It was said to be better & less expensive than Harvest on Fort Pond. I've eaten @ Harvest & although pricey, the ambiance & food were excellent. East by Northeast is also on Fort Pond, has romantic sunset views & is owned by the same owners as Harvest. The food is quite pricey here too, but they offer a Prix-Fixe dinner during the week for $25.00. Which includes appetizer, intermetzo course & main couse. The cusine has sort of an Asian flair. The portions are on the small side but the food was delicious & for the price, it is a good value. The chefs trio of appetizers was excellent; a demitasse size soup [fabulous] a salad w/chipotle dressing & a mini quesadea,,, all very good !!! My husband had the baby back ribs & said the meat was so tender, it fell off the bones. I had the Cod w/vegatables in a butter & wine sauce, cooked just right & very good. Our waitress was polite, the servers cordial & attentive. Alcoholic beverages are pricey as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    37
    30
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Overpriced NYC Club Feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sorry, I was not fond of this restaurant. The food was ok ,but served small portions, so I left hungry. I am not fond of the East by Northeast ambiance, it is extremely dark inside ,with a more NYC club feel instead of a beach vacation restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service and management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family has vacationed in Montauk annually for many years. This restaurant is on Fort Pond and has a great view and atmosphere. Unfortunately, the service is not what you would expect in a restaurant with high prices. Our waitress was very unattentive and when she was at the table her eyes were anywhere but on us. Needless to say the order was incorrect, dishes were placed in front of all the wrong diners and one of us received the wrong dinner all together! When mentioned to the management he was quite defensive of his waitress and had little patience in hearing our complaints. The meals were good but certainly didn't make up for the service or ridiculous comments made by management. Avoid this restaurant, go to the Harvest for a consistent good meal with great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, N.J.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just delicious, although a tad expensive. The filet mignon was perfect as was the burger. The menu is varied for every taste and the choices are fresh and imaginative.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice view great food but at a high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Montauk and the family was hungry, locals recommended this restaurant and a couple others. Wonderful view of a lake and good food. Menu was limited and prices are high so don't go if on a budget...family of 4 spent $200 no deserts and only one alcoholic beverage. Fresh fish dishes are excellent as they should be given the location. Have small plates which are appetizer size avg $18 and large plates (entrees with sides) over $30.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East By Northeast also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons

Been to East By Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East By Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.