We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view great food but at a high price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East By Northeast

East By Northeast
51 Edgemere St, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-2872
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East By Northeast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt 27
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice view great food but at a high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Montauk and the family was hungry, locals recommended this restaurant and a couple others. Wonderful view of a lake and good food. Menu was limited and prices are high so don't go if on a budget...family of 4 spent $200 no deserts and only one alcoholic beverage. Fresh fish dishes are excellent as they should be given the location. Have small plates which are appetizer size avg $18 and large plates (entrees with sides) over $30.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    22
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you fancy a nice dinner with beautiful views, look no further. The bar/lounge area is also fun. The food is very good and so is the service. This is one of the better "fine dining" restaurants in Montauk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went here with my family a few months ago and had a terrible experience. I would like to note that they looked like they were preparing for a wedding or some type of event that night. I hope that was the case because the food was terrible. I must say nothing was good about the dinner. I have been to this restuarant prior to this and the food was average/good. I would chalk this up to a bad night .. but I won't return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellmore ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

FROM THE VIEWS, THE BAR, AND TO DINNER, JUST AN ALL AROUND AMAZING EXPERIENCE.
we have enjoyed many meals at the sister location, the Harvest, but... this is even better.
great selection, amazing food.
thank you, job well done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very good enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had dinner at this restaurant with 5 other people, all enjoyed their dinners. Salads were fresh and sharable. I had a shrimp scampi dish which was excellent. One had the fresh cold lobster, clams and oysters dish; 2 people had the roasted herbed chicken and reported very good, and one had the ribs. Food was very fresh and I would not hesitate to return on another occasion. Our waitress was Samantha ---who was delightful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East By Northeast also viewed

Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to East By Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East By Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.