We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EAT HERE UNLESS:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Grill

Dave's Grill
468 West Lake Drive, Montauk Harbor, Montauk, NY 11954
631 668 9190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oakdale, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE UNLESS:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

you want an absolutely incredible meal! Yes, their same day reservations policy is tricky, but if you want something bad enough, it's all worth it!
Excellent FOOD! Excellent Service! Excellent decor! Their cioppino is one of the most delicious meals I have ever eaten anywhere I've traveled across the globe!
You get what you pay for and at Dave's Grill you will get a culinary and sensory experience to last a long time!
Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    10
    14
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best Swordfish On The Planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Difficult to get a reservation, but definitely worth the effort. Great atmosphere / ambience. Nice waiting area / very comfortable. Julie is a very gracious host. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for here. DELICIOUS!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once in a life time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Can't understand the hype for this place. It's hard to get a reservation and expensive. And then to top it off, the food ranged from slightly above average to none too good. Throw in lots of attitude and poor service as well as inflexible and unaccommodating and it's a once in a life time experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst owner of a resturant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Needed to call 39 times to make a reservations, phone calls start at 4:15 at 4:22 our call was answered. Our choices were 6:00 or 9:45. We chose 6:00, when we arrived the owner was in a shirt with her navel reviled, not appropriate for an owner. .We asked for outside she said No. We were seated at the WORST table, we asked to be moved and again she said No that's reserved. She had no desire to accommodate us , she could have cared less wether we stayed or left. So we chose to leave. Now we are at Navy Beach watching the sunset and writing this review. We will never eat at Daves Grill.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

With more and more decent options popping up in Montauk over the past few years, you'd figure that it'd be easier to get into Dave's Grill. Not really. Still have to make rezzy's the day of, but once you get seated, the service is exceptional, and the food is everything it's cracked up to be. Have the Cioppino and the Chocolate Box....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Grill also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to Dave's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.