We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in the off season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Montauk Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Montauk Beach House to your Saves list
The Montauk Beach House
55 South Elmwood Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice in the off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent last weekend there with my bf and loved the place - it does seem most appropriate for couples and younger folks. Restoration Hardware furnishings, everything new, quiet since it was mid-September and we felt we nearly had the place to ourselves. The Travel Channel was onsite one afternoon to shoot so there was a party with a DJ, but we were aware of the plans and made sure we were on the beach instead lol. All in all, fine service and, while not the Montauk most would come to expect, was a nice change of pace. The bar by the pool was a convenient spot to get champagne, and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Thanks we had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I am actually speechless! This was very unfortunate in every aspect of the word! This place does not belong in Montauk. "creepy"! I never have written an online review but I really felt the need to try to save someone else the mental anguish that me and my boyfriend encountered. This place is very poorly run. There are young inexperienced people running this place. As someone else stated it was never presented that we had to pay $500 to sit by a pool. The crowd was just weird! The rooms were soooo small with no where to put your belongings. No dressers at all! No shades on the windows to block the light but they felt the need to put a curtain right outside your room. I saw alot of intoxified people almost strangle themselves in the useless curtains. I think they definatwly have their priorities screwed up! But they had a bean bag chair, go figure! We had a room facing the parking lot. The light blaring in the windows kept us up all night! When i complained they dismissed me right away with no solution. I hope this helps someone from wasting their time and money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to Monuauk since I was a kid and this was by far the worst experience I have ever had. I booked this hotel obviously for its appealing new decor. When I booked the room at a mere $500 per night, I was not told that we could not sit at the pool without paying an additional $500. When i booked the room I specifically asked if the hotel accomodated children and they said yes there were other families who have stayed there. So for the person that said we chose to have our children go in the pool with a bunch of 20 and 30 year olds, trust me it was misrepresented when I made the reservation. This is Montauk not the Playboy Mansion. The people were groping one another like it was ok. Terrible management also. We were not even given an opportunity to speak to mangement. To me whoever runs this place is a coward. We spent a lot of money and did not choose this atmosphere. I would be shocked if it's open for another season.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here as a group of friends primarily for the atmosphere and for a great pool party during the Labor day weekend. Newly opened for this season, the amenities were fresh, hip and modern. The 2 pools with surrounding day beds went with a Miami style which was nice but lacked any umbrellas or misters. Lasting a whole day at the pool party is draining without shade. Pool snacks and drinks were tasty and the bar staff was nice.
The rooms were amusing. Based on the description given at reservations, we were expecting 2 queen beds and one bunk bed. The reality was 2 bunk beds (double on the bottom and a single on top). Considering we had booked rather last minute, none of us minded that we were at an expensive overnight camp. I wish I had a photo. Otherwise, the rooms were clean with simple decor. Instead of a couch, we had a giant bean bag. Also there are no drawers or closets only a hanging rack and a row of hooks. These details really didn't bother us but for others it may help you pack accordingly. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the down pillows. Air conditioning was icy cold and maid service was considerate.
The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Within walking distance is the beach, shops, restaurants, and our favorite spots. I would not recommend this as a family vacation stay though 2 families decided to have their kids swim/play alongside groups of 20's/30's drinking in the pool and the DJ pumping out tunes. If you're looking for a short stay in Montauk with a relaxed upscale social scene, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This place was not at all officially run.this place ruins the whole concept of montauk...family.a bunch of drunk people everywhere and is basically a club.the owner showed no responsibility when I asked to talk to him.when I asked to talk to him he sent over a front desk women.he made the front desk women tell me that he was somewhere else when I saw him drinking by the pool.if u do stay here and want to lay back and enjoy the pool u have to pay 500 $$ per seAt. Nothing really good to say about this place!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's definitely not a family-friendly place - it's meant for young, beautiful people, but it's very nice. The rooms are small but well appointed. There is no closet but for a quick stay the hooks will do. The bathroom is tiny but has great water pressure (and lovely bath products). The linens could be cleaner but they are definitely luxury quality. The rooms could stand to have a bit more light - the dark decor is lovely but it's hard to see anything (especially if you are trying to put on makeup). All in all - lovely hotel option and new addition to Montauk. P.S. CRAZY prices so you can't be price sensitive to go.

Room Tip: Be careful not to get a room facing the pool on a party night - no sleep due to the partying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a terrific time at The Montauk Beach House during our 4 day, mid-week trip to Montauk in July just a week after they opened. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the owners and business partners were always on-site. It was an added bonus to us that the owners mingled with the guests to insure that they were enjoying their stay and have a perfect experience. After having met the owners, we are certain this was by design and not by accident. It is newly owned and newly refurbished and clearly a property where the owners planned every little detail intending to create an upscale, boutique hotel with sophisticated decor and service. It is a property that would appeal to clientele who would appreciate attention to service and style. The in-town location made it convenient to beach as well as to shopping and restaurants by just walking. It should be noted that such in-town convenience lends itself to the sounds of everyday tourists, residents and services as well. Staff, maid service and pool attention were superb. It was casual and relaxing. The amenities leaned more towards an adult guest resort than a family hotel although families were guests as well. There is no restaurant on premises, but there is a lovely coffee shop reception room with music, a wonderful pool with awesome lounge seating and a cozy and welcoming bar for friendly, easy socializing. No matter who passed by the hotel, they were intrigued by it and it was so attractive many were drawn in to take a look. We look forward to returning and revisiting our new friends at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Montauk Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montauk Beach House

Address: 55 South Elmwood Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montauk Beach House is situated in the heart of downtown Montauk, and is a block from the Atlantic Ocean surf beaches and a short stroll to Montauk’s most exciting shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.We are a 33-room boutique hotel with an active environment that encompasses a lively outdoor bar scene and entertainment within its grounds. Our summer season is booked with special events including DJs, live music, fashion shows, and other social gatherings with one common goal: a bit of serious fun.So if you understand what we are about, be prepared to have a rather splendid time!The Hotel lobby has a bustling atmosphere, with an open-air feel – afforded by the giant wall of glass doors that open to the street. Soaring ceilings, beautiful art, and décor set the scene. The Hotel’s quirky and fun furniture intrigues you as you move through the lobby past the Café – an espresso bar serving splendid Stumptown coffee: freshly baked croissants, and other light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Montauk Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montauk Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.