We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place for a nice dinner in Montauk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast

The Coast
41 So. Euclid Ave, Montauk, NY
631-668-3212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: American, contemporary, freestyle cuisine & Sushi Bar. Locally Harvested Seafood,with always a few Hearty Meat Dishes, Vegan & Vegetarian Menu Options as well.
London/Philadelphia/Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A pretty good place for a nice dinner in Montauk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a nice dinner at The Coast, which serves a different menu every night, based on what is freshly caught and available. I had a super-fantastic slab of melt-in-your-mouth seared tuna served on top of a heap of meh black couscous and some kind of winter vegetable puree. My friend had the roasted-beet-and-blue-cheese salad, and was in heaven. It's not cheap, but nothing in the Hamptons is, and The Coast offered better value than many other places. The decor is a bright and cheerful nautical theme.

The only problem we had was finding the place. We called for directions, which turned out to be useless. The directions on the Web site are useless. Here's how you get there - drive into "the circle," that area where White's Department Store is located, and when you get to the Irish pub - look to your left. See that seven-story "tower" building? There is a street in front of it. Turn down that street. The Coast is on the next block.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellerose, New York
1 review
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I couldn't stop eating all the food because it all tasted fantastic! The sushi was so fresh and the drinks were so good especially a drink called the Cabin Cooler; I felt like I was having a day at the spa. All the food was excellent and I walked out full and satisfied. I haven't been to a well put together restaurant like this in a while!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Montauk...Hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Montauk only a handful of times but when I do I look forward to the food. Last night my girlfriend and I decided to check this place out. Right from the start the staff was kind and attentive. The food was absolutely amazing! No other restaurant in the surrounding areas even compare. You must check this restaurant out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I tried this restaurant after the railings and we weren't disappointed! Great food and nice portions! We had the fish n chips, fresh little neck clam pizza and California and the coast sushi rolls All delicious! A bit pricy but this is montauk and the food was good enough to make us feel the prices were h
Justified! Would go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped in here on our first night upon a recommendation from our inkeeper and we were thrilled we did. Its a great, laid-back restaurant in town. We started with the toasty roasty salad which was delicious. We split a couple of sushi rolls but the standout was definitely the Manhattan roll. And we loved our dessert- a streudel type. Overall it was a great ambiance- you could sit in the lounge or in the dining room. there were some people watching football on the TV at the bar so it had something for everyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coast also viewed

Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to The Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;