We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right Off Season, In Season? No Way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel
South Edgemere St., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Priced right Off Season, In Season? No Way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First Off, this trip was in Dec 2012 and the Royal Atlantic is PERFECT for my needs. A comfortable "Suite" for $80. This is a Great room at this price. The problem with that is that there isn't much to do in Montauk in Winter time. That's why I love Montauk in Winter. Had a nice 50*F day and did lots of hiking around The Point.

Back to the "Resort". this is NOT a resort for those of you used to such things. It's no more than Motel Quality with an incredible location. I could never imagine in my wildest dreams shelling out close to $2,500 for a week at this place. If you're going to do that, go with another family/couple and split one of he 3 bedroom condos at $5,000 for the week. Your out of pocket will be approx the same, but your experience will be much better.

See my previous review from Feb 2012 here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g48194-d290937-r124257142-Royal_Atlantic_Beach_Resort_Hotel-Montauk_Long_Island_New_York.html

The property is worse off now due to sustaining signifcant ocean flooding from Hurricane Sandy. The salt water decays this, and all other Montauk properties, faster than many other places. yes there is rust in spots, wood rotting, towels SUCK big time. I will definitely bring my own batch towels next time, as theirs suck big time! Paper bath mat is annoying once your feet get wet as it sticks to you. This place is a good base of operations and 4-6 younger people could probably pack themselves in here and be modestly content. I am 45 with 2 kids and for our family it would be tight, as I've become a bit of a Hotel diva in my latter years. With that said, I will almost always stay here during my winter trips out to Montauk, because at $80 ($92 with tax) it has value. You will be stunned and pissed at what you see if you pay High Season rates for this place (or any other High season rates in Montauk for that matter)...but if the demand is there, people will pay.

Call ahead and ask about storm damage. They were working hard when I was there, so should be ready by summer, but I'd be concerned about their mold removal efforts. I didn't see alot of actual gutting and removal of flooded areas, but then again, I didn't look very close either and it has been almost 2 months since the storm.

Room Tip: Room 223 in Royal Atlantic North had great view of pool, no view of ocean, but you will hear footste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    39
    25
    48
See reviews for
83
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Islip Terrace, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visit Montauk every year, and this was the first time we went off season and stayed at the Royal Atlantic. We chose the property on a recommendation from a friend who is a local because we are now a family with two children under 2, and wanted a kitchen and plenty of space. The rates seemed very reasonable for a two bedroom suite off season. Although there was nothing by way of a "view", we did have our own private terrace to relax outside. The proximity to the beach and the town is perfect. The staff at the desk were nothing to write home about upon check in, but everyone else we dealt with were super friendly and helpful. We requested a crib- which was an old wooden style type, perfect for our newborn, but I wouldn't consider putting an active toddler in it. The kitchen was sufficient- minimal pots and pans and mix matched cutlery. There were no sharp knives, or a strainer, but they gave us one upon request. You need to wash your own dishes, and you'll want to bring paper towels. Theres a coffee maker and a microwave, no toaster- but the oven served the purpose. The bathmat is made of paper and the towels are skimpy at best. If you like big fluffy towels bring your own. Also bring your own toiletries, only a bar of soap was provided. Room wasn't immaculate but clean enough for us. Spent most of the weekend in the room and were very comfortable enjoying our family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Why the word "resort" is in its name beats me because there is nothing "resort" about this place. It is a motel that charges Midtown prices.

Pro:
There is only one and that is the beach right in front of your room.

Cons:
The room is disgusting. You will sleep in dirty, old, and ripped sheets that feel like they weren't washed for days. The walls are paper thin that offer no sound proofing. You will hear kids running in the hallways all night long with their stupid drunk parents right behind them talking loudly.

The bathroom is tiny, and the shower is awful. The water temperature fluctuates from lukewarm to hot while mid-shower.

They give you NOTHING! no ironing board, toiletries, or hair dryer. There is a small dorm room style kitchen but I wouldn't use any of the pots provided.

At night you will breathe in the smoke from the bonfires on the beach all night.

Guests are very low-class, drunk and have dozens of annoying children with them.

It seems as though people come here and stay 10+ in the rooms.

The bar by the pool is a great place to go to if you'd like a taste of "the jersey shore" in the hamptons.

There is no parking, no lobby and no concierge.

The place is a hole!

Room Tip: The only decent hotel in Montauk is the Surf Club but it is an arm and a leg. I would not reccomend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just stayed 1 weekday , off season note at the Royal Atlantic. Very reasonable for a basic room which was alarge, clean ,comfortable with a fridge- micro and two top burners. Did not need all that for my trip as it was just to rest in between fishing the beach but really nice . I look forward to staying there again on of off season as it is on ocean and very close walking distance to town.

Room Tip: very friendly... i mean it is late october so they are happy for business but tel. receptionist as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

our recent 10 days at the Royal Atlantic townhouses was bliss. The townhouses are right on the beach and the 2nd floor deck overlooking the beach is a treat. The only downside was the slow or non-existent internet connection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

To say that they have cut costs here is an understatement. There is no clock, no radio, no tissues, no shampoo; there is a coffee maker, but no coffee. The microwave had no plate in it, the patio door did not lock well, but it had a thick piece of wood to put into the sliding door to keep it closed. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable; the walls were thin, we could hear the TV in the next room and when the shower was turned on, it sounded like we were in it. The exterior is worn looking, the carpets are worn. There is complementary wi-fi, when it works. The location, however is great; close to restaurants and shops. it is right on the beach. The breakfast, while complementary is also not exactly as advertised; a choice of one beverage, no refills and any extra addition to the menu item is at least $2.00; tip appreciated. During the summer, it may be a nice place; on a rainy weekend it was not so nice. There are probably better places, but many have the same worn look to them. Our room had a view of the ocean from the balcony. It is better than camping.

Room Tip: There are ocean front rooms, but they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been going to The Royal Atlantic for many years. The rooms were redone some years back and they have queen size beds instead of double and the kitchens have great countertops, a refrigerator and electric stove. All room have 32" flat screen TVs as well. There is a lovely BBQ area if you want to cook which we did on some nights because we stayed for 7 nights. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Although our maid did not speak but a word or two of English we had no problem at all getting extra towels and pillows. Our room was very clean as was the bathroom. It was me, my husband and 14 year old son. In the afternoon there was live music by the pool which also has a beach bar should you wish to purchase food or beverage. Drinks ate pricy but since we've been coming for years we brought our own blender and made our own tropical drinks. The pool is also heated which is a plus because it is breezy on the beach. Music was different each day and there was an excellent reggae band that we loved. A full breakfast was included each morning. Most of all, you are paying for location as you are 2 steps away from the beach and a block from town in any direction. Luckily we had 8 days of perfect weather. It's just a great place to relax and have fun and the people that come to this hotel are just as friendly. We meet new friends every year. We plan to go back next summer. Trust me you will not be disappointed but you will spend a minimum of $350 per night including tax for room including full breakfast for everyone in your party.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel

Address: South Edgemere St., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.