We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location-awful hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel
South Edgemere St., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location-awful hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is a 5- right on the beach. The hotel is old and worn down despite relatively new furniture in the room. Tissues available??--no, you have toilet paper! Personal bathmats available however they are made of paper. Towels you could see through. Heard snoring from the room next door and the cell phone alarm at 4 am from the other room. No internet working in the room and no restaurant except for breakfast. Granted it was the end of the season, but the hotel still charged seasonal rates which were higher than neighboring motels. Certainly less than we expected for the price--luckily we had beautiful weather.

Room Tip: Just look at the room before signing on the dotted line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    46
    35
    23
    48
See reviews for
76
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is simple and clean, and it has a great location right on the beach in Montauk. All the rooms have a kitchenette and most have an ocean view, which is really nice. You can't expect a montauk beach hotel to be fancy! I do think it is overpriced as well.

Just make sure to call ahead a few times to confirm your reservation, because they have lost mine on two separate trips! Also beware the "free breakfast"...you're must better off eating at Bird on the Roof or Joni's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ideal location right on the beach and near town. However, the "ocean view" room we booked was only ocean view if you stood on the balcony and craned your neck out to try and see the ocean. The carpet was perpetually damp in the room so you could put nothing on the floor. The towels were the size of a wash cloth and looked more like they were for cleaning a car- and they SMELLED- musty and disgusting. There was also no shampoo or any ammenities. Would not book there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I know its montauk, but.... I would never stay here again, we go to montauk every summer and sometimes even a quick fall trip. We are always trying to find a decent place to stay. This is not it.
We had an upper pool view room but still could see a bit of the ocean. That was the only nice part.
Looking over the balcony we could see the Rats running in and out beneath the first floor hotel rooms. Quite disgusting, needless to say, they can keep the free breakfast. We did not eat there, I could barely sleep, was afraid of what was going to be running around our room. We didnt want to disappoint the kids so we stayed, also we prepaid, never again. Besides that, as another reviewer mentioned, a large group of families took over the whole place. Loud music till 2am , obnoxious kids and even more obnoxious parents. Hotel staff couldn't care less. This hotel really needs to get their act together, call an exterminator, clean up the place and have some common courtesy for all the guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbarano Vicentino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful place right on the ocean,free breakfast.

Great pool and food bar right by pool.
Great family vacation. Located right in town. Near great restaurants. Short drive to Gosmans dock. Many small shops their

Room Tip: We always ocean view or ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Atlantic over Labor Day wkend. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, one block off the beach. This was a trip with my grandchildren n daughter. The suite was decent enuf, clean but with a moldy odor near the window. Bed was comfortable, but for the price u pay all u r getting is the location of being able to walk to the ocean. There is a galley kitchen which has a fridge, micro and stove, sink. Plenty of storage in cabinets and closet. The living room area has a small deck off the back. There's a couch that opens, a table and 4 chairs, dresser, 2 night tables, lamps. It's minimal-bring everything u need including towels, beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, blow drier, all necessary amenities, including paper towels, paper goods, condiments etc. The cleaning crew comes in every day, changes towels, vacuums the place, empties garbage. They seemed to be good workers, eager to please, for probably minimum wage-so don't take it out on them. Whenever I asked for a cot, more towels, etc, it was forthcoming. You have to pay up front 1/2 when u book and the balance upon arrival. There r no refunds, especially on holiday wkends. There is a small game room where the kids could play ping pong and games. U can have a bonfire on the beach in the evening (just have to buy wood ($8.00 and durflame logs, cheaper at 7/11) from the stores in town. It was very crowded over the holiday wkend, great for young singles. There's a band on the beach playing music, a small bar near the large pool where u can get drinks or food. There's another smaller pool by the condos which was hardly ever crowded. Bring food, drinks, coolers. Breakfast is free and is surprisingly good, but of course, u have to tip the help. Some drinks are 2.00 extra, but it's a good deal with a lot of choices. And u can order and have it delivered to ur room for an extra $1. So if u bring luncheon foods, u will then just have to pay for dinner out, which is what we did. There are plenty of choices for eating, either inexpensively or not. The Montauk Lighthouse is there to be discovered for the youngsters, nice parks, horseback riding, shopping. It's very casual dress-mostly bathing suits, coverups, even in town, then the usual summer outfits for evening is u so desire. We had a good time overall but the bottom line is they know that if u don't take the room, someone else will so that's the basis for the attitudes. And it's true-it's a good place to be when u have 4 full days of non-stop sun! Just don't expect much and u won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First let me say, I have been going to Montauk for years and years. We have stayed at quite a few places but heard through the grape vine that the Royal Atlantic is 'the' place to stay for young families. WRONG!

1. I could load up my car with beach chairs, coolers and sand toys from home and drive to the beach. If I'm staying at a hotel on the beach, it's for the convenience of NOT lugging that paraphernelia! Except the Royal Atlantic does not provide beach chair or even beach towels! It's all bring your own... and bring your own for each person, each day b/c there's certainly nowhere to rinse off the dirty ones.

2. The appeal of the tiki bar poolside seemed great but it's just a tiny sliver of an area. You can't even get 2 people deep without blocking the walkway.

3. The rooms are disgusting. Most Montauk hotels are on the older side so don't have luxurious expectations anywhere you stay out there but these were definitely sub-par. Definitely ZERO ammenities. No tiny shampoo bottles, no iron (not even at the front desk for a loaner), no hairdryer, no sitting area, no dvd player... and again, the towels are sparse!

4. The staff could completely care less and their attitude reflected it on every level.

5. The restaurant - they say breakfast included but it's $2 extra for ham in your omelet, $3 extra for chocolate milk for your kids, $2.50 extra for fruit instead of toast ... and the list goes on. PS - this restaurant is eat-in only. There is no room service - breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Royal Atlantic.

6. Having said all that, the place is NOT even cheap! Stay somewhere else and get your money's worth because Montauk itself is an amazing destination!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel

Address: South Edgemere St., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Atlantic Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.