We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Deck Motel Family Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Deck Motel Family Resort
Save
You added East Deck Motel Family Resort to your Saves list
40 Deforest Road, PO Box 5003, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Found East Deck on the web...after reading reviews and speaking with Alice at East Deck, we decided to make our reservation and we were so pleased!! Great location, beautiful views, friendly staff and loved the very clean, rustic suite...some called it throw back in time...but we found that to be a plus. Took the most amazing sunrise and sunset photos. So glad we made East Deck our home for a few days!!

Room Tip: A1has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just wrapped up a 5 day stay at the East Deck and we loved it. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the location was perfect for beach going. When we weren't at the beach, we spent a lot of time lounging on the deck in front of our room. Our daughter also made good use of the playground equipment out back.

Some of the reviews hint at "throwback" decor which is accurate in some ways, but don't expect some mid-century gem. The vintage stuff is mostly the wood paneling, and tables/chairs in the rooms with kitchenettes. Most other furnishings seemed newer.

I'd return to the East Deck without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Can't say enough good stuff about this place or the people who run it! LOVELY! Simple, clean rooms, all overlooking the amazing surf at Ditch Plains! We stayed in a room with a kitchenette, which came w/dishes/plates/coffeepot/stove/pots, etc. Decor was a bit dated (kitchy) but we LOVED THAT about it!! Bed was very comfortable and being lulled to sleep by the waves made our stay there all the more enjoyable! The room was SPOTLESS!!!! We will return again and again......we LOVED this place!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

East Deck is not for luxury but if you're looking for a great spot that's on the beach, it's perfect.
People were very nice.
The rooms were clean but they are very basic. It feels like a throwback.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, LI, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Been going there for 33 years. Very rustic, but the best Surf around with the Beach really close. Outside of town, so very quiet ! Weekends the Beach can get crowded during the Summer, but its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The rooms are clean, the beach is less than 50 feet away, and there's a food truck in front. What more do you need? We cooked for breakfast, bbq-ed for dinner, took a swim in the pool, bon-fired on the beach, and participated in the morning yoga classes. I love this place and I hope it never changes. I will going here for years to come.

Room Tip: We had the 1 bedroom room with efficiency. It was great to be able to cook some of our meals! it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A throwback to the 60's, this modest motel complex is genuinely funky. Clean room. Reasonable price. Fine bed. Our room was in the portion perpendicular to the beach, so our picture window faced west, with views over the long deck, beach roses, and nature preserve to the dunes and beach. Great spot for long walks on the beach. Wonderful breakfast burritos and all kinds of coffees, etc. from the food truck parked at the beach end of the small parking lot that has been catering to surfers, etc. for 15+ years.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Deck Motel Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Deck Motel Family Resort

Address: 40 Deforest Road, PO Box 5003, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
East Deck Motel Family Hotel Montauk
East Deck Hotel Family

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Deck Motel Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.