We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel

Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel
Save Saved
You added Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel to your Saves list
6 Soundview Drive, P O Box 2308, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Katonah, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We went to the Montauk Soundview in June 2009. When we arrived we were not sure if we were going to like it but it ended being one of the best times!! The owners were so nice and very helpful. The Soundview is right down the street from Gosman's dock which has great restaurants and a little shopping area. My 6 year old loved the beach(great for small children) and the pool. I would not recommend it for farty uptight people because it's sort of laid back and not perfect but very charming once you"get it".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunshine081
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Other then the location it was not worth the cost. The bathroom smelled like bug spray and the rug in the bathroom looked to be about ten years old with stains. The livingroom sofa was gross and we used our own blanket to cover it and then threw it out. My husband had to hook up the TV in the back because the wire was not connected. We should have researched more places.

  • Liked — We liked the pool
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We did not find the soundview to be resort like in any way. The only thing to do is swim. The childrens area has much older worn toys which they call the play area. The room was in need of maid service and we found a long hair in our sheet when turned down for bed. The webpage makes things look so much better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Nice place to stay with small children. Owners are very nice and accomodating. Rooms were clean, but could use a facelift. Eating out is expensive, so this place is great if you want to go to the beach/pool and then just eat in (if you're lucky enough to have a room with kitchen). All-in-all.....average.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Soundview is great. Nice pool. Excellent location. Room is fine. Great for young kids.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

This was our first vacation with our 4 month old baby. I was so nervous taking him away but it turned out to be the best thing we could have done. We stayed in an efficiency unit. It had a little kitchen with plates you can actually eat off of without first washing. The kitchen was fully loaded. The place is nothing special from the outside but the rooms on the inside are so clean. I am a clean freak so this is very important to me. The people there are so nice. Some of the people we met own the rooms and others are vacationers who come back and stay at the same place year after year. Everyone seemed to know eachother. They told me that after the 4th of July it turns into a party town. We went two weeks before the 4th and it was very mellow. You have to bring your own beach towels. I would suggest bringing your own food because the deli is so expensive. They wanted $12 for a bag of grapes!!! Bring your own beer and wine too. The resturants are walking distance and they are great. The pool is very nice and clean. The management is super nice. We made lots of friends. We plan to go back with other couples next time.

  • Liked — the rooms were very clean
  • Disliked — the stores were very expensive
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

As vacation time rolls around Montauk Soundview is STILL in first place with our family! We were fortunate to have been introduced to JOANIE, the owner, by some of our closest friends, several years ago, and have been coming back ever since. She runs this place with alot of heart and pride. It is , by far one of the most beautiful places, with breathtaking views and cool evening breezes, our daughters pick this place EVERY year. IT It is fun for every age. The cottages and apts are cozy and there is usually entertainment poolside on the weekends. The restaurants surrounding the Soundview are famous for their kid-friendly , over-sized , dee-lish breakfasts, and probably some of the best seafood restaurants around. With a quaint little village to walk through and enjoy some shopping, or some homeade ice cream ,or maybe even a local parade or or so, this sweet family get-a-way spot cant be beat in our eyes.
Did I mention our lobster cook-outs on our own porch at night under the stars? That just tops the cake! In one (or three !) words,... GO, GO , GO!!!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel

Address: 6 Soundview Drive, P O Box 2308, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montauk Soundview is a uniquely styled resort hotel, ideally located along the serene coast of the Block Island Sound, and 350 yards West of the Montauk Harbor Inlet on eastern Long Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montauk Soundview Hotel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Soundview Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.