We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for fishermen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Resort Motel

Harborside Resort Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harborside Resort Motel
Save
You added Harborside Resort Motel to your Saves list
371 West Lake Dr., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Montauk
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for fishermen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed 5th year in row at harborside. Owner (manager)very courteous. Rooms are clean. Flat screen TV in my room.

Serves our purpose well-walking distance to marina, liars bar, restaurants.

Fishermen friendly. very reasonable for Montauk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    20
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Checked in to harbourside motel from canada this sept for some fishing . pleasantly suprised rooms very clean and tidy ,it is obvious Merle the owner takes much pride in her place , she is wonderful to deal with and is very helpful indeed. The location is close to all that you would need while visiting the area . the rates are very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we stayed at the Harborside the manager was so very warm and accommodating. Our kids absolutely loved it and even though it was during a peek season (July) they gave us the best rate yet. We have started our tradition of vacationing at Montauk every year and this year we found this place after having a not so pleasant experience trying to book somewhere else. The first day we were at the pool and didn't even realize it was past the time limit. It seemed someon mentioned it at the office and the manager came over and nicely brought it up in conversation then offered to take a pick for us. My experience with the staff will diffidently keep me coming back.

Room Tip: I loved the corner suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is a scene in Top Gun when one of the young pilot's wives sees their living quarters for the first time at Miramar-with disappointment etched over her face,she knows that they are going to have to "make do" for the duration of their stay.Sadly,this is how we all felt when we first arrived at the Harborside Motel in August this year.
Whilst true to the reviews,the host Merle is cheerful and forever helpful in directing us around the area and giving us advice on the beaches etc,but the Motel is dated in all respects,and needs a significant investment in it's infrastructure in my opinion.
The room that we stayed in had very dated furniture(it all looked second-hand to me),an old CRT TV, a rusty fridge in the kitchenette area,and a woeful lack of cutlery,dishes,glasses and mugs(there was one).This,for a room to sleep four people.You pay for the room for the week "up front" upon arrival,and we could see why. We read great reviews of this Motel prior to booking,some from repeat guests-and there was evidence during our stay of repeat guests checking in-so it must hold some charm for them,but not unfortunately for us.The prices for a week are very competitive for peak holiday time there,and I guess that that is part of it's attraction to many.
On the plus side,apart from Merle and her welcoming demeanor,the grounds are kept tidy and swept daily,and the pool area was clean,private, and well-maintained,though the poolside furniture was very dated.
The location of the Motel is ideal for restaurants in the evening-only a short walk away,and Merle provides guests with beach parking passes for the area-a welcome(free) service,as the local fines are steep if you don't have one.
I'm always honest in the reviews that I post,as many reviews in the past on Trip Advisor have helped us choose some great holidays. Even though we were disappointed with The Harborside's general standard of accommodation (it fell far short of what we were expecting and came as quite a shock after a superb stay in New York) it's location is good and Merle is a pleasant and helpful host.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a similar(dated) appearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Merle is a wonderful host (and person), the Harborside a great place to stay in Montauk. Been visiting Merle and Montauk for almost 20 years for the RJA triathlon. Love going every year, now with my daughter in tow. Love you, Merle!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Harborside is one of Montauk's best kept, tucked away secrets by the lake. You can walk approximately a half mile to Gosman's and the rest of the harborside strip there. It's perfect. You're out of the mayhem of town, but a 5 minute drive in. The Harborside is very clean, the owner is a doll, and we plan to stay here for many years to come. The pool is also perfect and does not have a chloride smell. There is a small BBQ area (2 mini bbqs) with a couple of picnic tables, a tennis court and a basketball hoop.

Room Tip: There is an "apartment" on the second floor that has a kitchenette with 2 full size beds w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. Parts of the motel are dated but everything is kept neat and clean. They have beach passes for the guests so we got to go to Gin Beach every day. We also had wifi access and a small flat screen tv with cable. The only issues we had were minor: there was no hair dryer or complimentary shampoo and conditioner. And our bathroom door couldn't close all the way!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.2 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#12 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#10 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#15 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Resort Motel

Address: 371 West Lake Dr., Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montauk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#6 Family Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Montauk
Harborside Motel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.