We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Edison

South Edison
17 South Edison Street, Montauk, NY 11954
631-668-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
South Edison is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 86 restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came here on a Friday night and had the best meal at the bar. We opted to dine at the bar since its more social. The restaurant had a good crowd/buzz going. Our bartenders were super friendly and made great recommendations. We started with some local oysters which were great and we split a tuna entree that was equally delicious. The strawberry shortcake dessert was sublime as well. But the real standout that makes me want to go back out East immediately is their tuna crudo appetizer. It had a cilantro, onion, watermelon combo- the most memorable thing I had all weekend in montauk. That is a must have. They do food right here. if you're going to eat in the dining room, you should make a reservation as it gets filled up pretty quickly. But def go!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    26
    20
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food at this place is really fresh and delicious! Their food is great - locally grown - the selections are plenty and the atmosphere is wonderful. We got a bit lucky because we went for an early dinner on Saturday without reservations. Based on how busy it got within 30 minutes of being there - there is no doubt that you will need reservations here. The scene is noisy so dont go here expecting a quiet dinner.
Was not a fan of the hipster waiters/hosts. I didn't enjoy the waiter telling us that he needs his table 'back' in 45 minutes essentially telling us to eat quick and get the heck out. It worked out because we were looking to be quick but still dont enjoy being told that.

Other than that I was very happy with the place and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithtown, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Food was EXCELLENT - blue claw crab cake served w. egg & prosciutto was out of this world. Sea scallops done perfectly, as was striped bass. Very high noise level kept it from being perfect.










7

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“creative and fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

were lucky enough to get in last minute. really wonderful, interesting menu that changes daily based on local availability. unfortunately only open in the summer season but not worth missing if you are a foodie. reserve in advance. seating is communal for the most part unless you specify

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, if you can stand the hipsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is great. I miss the happy hour though. The food is some of the best that montauk has to offer. Unfortunately the hipster scene has taken over. Some of the worst offenders are the hosts!

Great spot if you can handle the scene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Edison also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons

Been to South Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Edison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.