We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel to your Saves list
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   693 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
JULY FREE NIGHT SPECIAL
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed with our 2 kids ages 3 and 9 and Hartman's was just perfect. Room was very clean, updated and beautiful view (room 18). We went with several other families as a group and used the outdoor grills and kids played on expansive lawn. Very relaxing atmosphere and so close to town you can walk if you want to. Robert is lovely to deal with and makes you feel like an old friend upon check in. Oh and their pool is heated so swimming in mid September was relaxing and pleasant. Not like some other places we have tried in the past that claim they have heated pools but they don't turn them on! I would definitely recommend this place and we will surely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    94
    17
    7
    26
See reviews for
164
202
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Thank you Robert and Jennifer and the Hartman's staff. We had a great time relaxing and having fun. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, and made our stay so great we did not want to leave!! We came with friends and also met some new friends. Looking forward to seeing you all next time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Over the years we have been to several places in Montauk, but nothing compares to Hartman's Briney Breezes. From the moment you arrive, the office staff makes you feel welcome and accommodates any needs you might have. The grounds are immaculate and set up for guests to have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are beautiful, clean and offer a great kitchen area to cook your own food. The heated pool is a great way to end the day after spending it on the beach, which is directly across from the hotel. We loved sitting on the terrace, overlooking the beautiful grounds and the water view. It offers everything you could want in a wonderful Montauk vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently returned back from Montauk and our stay at this fine hotel. We have been going to Montauk ever since our children were small. This was our first time without them as they are now in college. We love this place. The rooms are always very well maintained and clean. The owners do a great job in up keep of the grounds and seem to upgrade the rooms on a regular basis.New Beds and beautiful linens this year. If you know Montauk you know that nothing is too fancy here. You will not find a St Regis outpost but you can find a great clean place with ocean views and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Each room has a dining table and a terrace that we always enjoy our breakfast on. Each terrace comes with lounge chairs perfect for that evening drink before dinner. You can walk to town or best yet walk right across the street to the beach! If possible try to get a room on the top levels as they have the best ocean views. If you have small children you might prefer the ground level for easy access. A little pricey but worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the upper levels that look directly out onto the ocean. Almost all upper level r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our third time at Briney Breezes, and the place just keeps getting better. Great location on the outskirts of town, so a nice walk for supplies/drinks/dinner. Beach across the road is beautiful, and the BB team provide towels, umbrellas, stuff for bonfires, the works.

In particular this visit the team couldn't do enough to help us relax and settle in, even providing us with a computer charge when we forgot ours, and a lift into town at the end of our stay as the owner was going that way anyway, or at least he said he was!

I've never previously gone back to the same hotel on any trip, anywhere; but Briney Breezes is special - we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely four day stay in room 30 - one of the top storey suites overlooking the pool and the sea. Very friendly staff and owners, great relaxed atmosphere, and lovely to sit out on the balcony. A great location at Montauk - ideal for seeing the Hamptons and Shelter Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't normally do this, but felt like I had to after a terrible phone call with Hartman's.

I was looking for a last minute couple of nights away, and really wanted to give Hartman's a try based on the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor. I thought the easiest way would be to contact them directly, however was greeted by someone that clearly wasn't interested in my business.

There was no customer service whatsoever...I had to prompt for the room rates after being told there was availability, and he just sounded like he wanted to get off the phone. The rate was actually very reasonable, but I said I would call back as I wanted to check with my husband, and the guy just hung up on me without saying goodbye. I was definitely going to call back despite the rude manner, but when I was hung up on, there is no way that I would stay at the hotel.

I am incredibly disappointed as this was #1 on our list for places to stay in Montauk, but I definitely would not ever stay there following the terrible phone call I just had with them.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Address: 693 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montauk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean's clean white sandy beaches you will relax and enjoy a spectacular ocean view from all 44 1 and 2 room efficiencies, with A/C Heat, HBO and a balcony to sit and unwind. Outdoor heated pool, Barbecues,short walk to the village and Tee Times at Montauk Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartman`s Briney Breezes Hotel Montauk
Hartmans Briney Breezes Hotel
Hartmans Briney Breezes Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.