We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, Private, and Tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burcliffe "By The Sea"

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burcliffe "By The Sea"
397 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty, Private, and Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We have been staying at Burcliffe during the summer months for the past 10 years, and we were hooked during our very first stay. Owners, Bob and Lorna Burke are gracious hosts, and very accomodating. We stayed in a studio efficiency that was spotless, with a private deck overlooking the blue Atlantic. Just a short one-minute walk through the dunes, and you find yourself in an uncrowded, beautiful clean beach. The beach is good for boogie boarding, surfing, and fishing. You are far away from the bustle of the town beaches. The grounds at Burcliffe offer privacy. You could lounge, or cook at one of the grills in the backyard without seeing anyone. This is truly a home away from home, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was the first time we stayed at Burcliffe by the Sea. We had read all of the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and decided to try it out. We went for a weekend and we were very impressed with the 1 bedroom cottage we rented, The cottage is rustic and charming it had a kitchen, dining room, living room with a wood burning stove and the bedroom had a queen size and twin size bed. The beds were extremely comfortable. We had our own pation with table, umbrella and chairs along with an area to barbecue. The ocean was right across the street, just a minute walk over the dunes. Lorna and Bob were very accommodating and friendly. The day we got there was very foggy and we wanted to take a walk to a nearby restaurant and they gave us flashlights. The beach was spectacular. There are plenty of good restaurants a short drive away. I can't say enough about this place and highly recommend it if your looking to lay back and relax in a tranquil setting. We are planning to go back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Burcliffe is just lovely. The efficiency I stayed in definitely has a motel not hotel feeling - yet immaculate and clearly excellently cared for by the gracious owners Bob and Lorna.
The bathroom was new and spotless, the kitchen exceptionally clean and stocked with all cooking essentials, the TV was flat screen and the WIFI appreciated.
The view from my room was tree tops and the ocean beyond, which lies directly across the road, and my little deck area was sweet.
The landscaping here is beautiful, and the beach is found through a small path across the road which leads to a more tranquil stretch of Montauk.
If you want a peaceful getaway, this is the biggest bang for your buck!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

we were looking for a seaside place in the Montauk area that would let us bring our dogs, which are allowed here during the off-season -- but dogs or no dogs, i would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value in the Montauk area. we rented one of the efficiencies (they have both cottages and efficiencies) and were pleasantly surprised -- it was clean, spacious, and because it is on a hill, there was a view of the ocean from our room. the grounds are charming and well-kept, and the short path down to the beach is easy to navigate. i may even prefer this than to being right down on the beach itself -- and being in the Hither Hills area, the environment is all natural, no ugly signs or retailers. the owners are very friendly and accomodating, which made our visit even more relaxed. we had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

...that remained throughout our stay. The accommodations are simple, cozy and very clean with all of the necessary amenities. The owners, Bob and Lorna are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. Depending on what you like, the location in general is not as touristy and "polished" as other areas closeby and it offers lots of fun and interesting things to do, especially for those who love the outdoors and appreciate beach culture. If you don't feel like cooking, the local gastronomy offers something for everyone's palette from traditional breakfast and brunch to seafood specialties. With any luck in the coming years, we are considering making the trip to Burcliffe "By the Sea" an Easter tradition as long as we can get the weather to agree like it did this year! Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for the weekend with our yellow lab. We had a cute little cottage with deck facing the ocean. It had a living area with two beds off to the side in another room that had a acordian type door for privacy from the living room area with kitchenette and decent size bath room. We walked across the street down the path right to the ocean beach. At night, we had the screen door open and we could hear the waves crashing and at dusk, we saw a family of deer right on the lawn in front of the sliding glass door windows. Overall was a great trip and we would definitely stay there again. The furniture is a little outdated but it was clean and the maid service was great. Dogs are only allowed off season so we will stay down the road at the Hither House in the summer where dogs are allowed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Burcliff by the Sea was a wonderful choice for us to stay in Montawk. The owners are very friendly. The accommodations were beautiful,comfortable, cozy & clean. The rates are reasonable for what you get. The setting is quiet and private. It is a short walk to the ocean where the vast beach is inviting and the view breathtaking. It's a perfect getaway for an individual, couples, friends or families!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burcliffe "By The Sea"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcliffe "By The Sea"

Address: 397 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Burcliffe `By The Sea` Hotel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burcliffe "By The Sea", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burcliffe "By The Sea" to your Saves list