We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it appears some rooms are individually owned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort At Montauk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort At Montauk to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
727 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Garden City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“it appears some rooms are individually owned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

It appears some rooms are individually owned so it would depend on the luck of the draw. My room 231 was very nice and remodeled with a new bathroom. Pool is nice and clean. To get to the beach, you have to cross Old Montauk Hwy and follow a path through the dune. Not bad but a long trek back to use the bathroom. Too far to walk to town. Motel is great for a quiet place to stay, no crowds on the beach and no rowdy kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
38
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Visited the Hamptons for a special event the weekend of July 18th. Montauk is really beautiful and less crowded than the other villages on the East end. We traveled there on the LIRR which was quick & convenient. The Montauk train station is only minutes away and cost $9 by taxi.

The hotel is old and basic with a kitchenette. It was clean but smelled slightly musty. The bedding & curtains are outdated. If you select this hotel ask for a second floor room...it offers a truly magnificent view of the ocean. There is no restaurant on the property but you can pack your fridge. The property has a pool that was very active during our visit.

I would recommend this property for people who don't require much. But if you're looking for something a bit more upscale or traditional hamptons shop around and book early.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens, new york
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just got home from a perfect vacation in Montauk. We have been going to Montauk for years and we decided to stay at the Beachcomber Resort. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The room had sliding doors onto a deck that overlooked the ocean where we ate breakfast every morning. The beach across the street was so secluded. We just loved it. After the beach we played tennis and walked into town for dinner. The staff was friendly and had gret recommondations for dinner. We'll be back in August.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens,NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Every year for over 17 years my 4 sisters and I spend 5 nights in Montauk. We've tried many places, and have returned to the Beachcomber a number of times.There is no doubt the quality has gone down while prices go up. The employees in the office are the worst by far. The cleaning staff should be running the place, since they actully care a little bit about what goes on. Last year was the same sorry story, but I won't go into that. We booked a lovely corner room, but there was not one dresser drawer, one shelf, or storage area for our belongings. Not one.The only closet not closed with a padlock had no shelves, and was packed with a foldaway bed and full ironing board.There was noplace to unpack to! The bedroom did not have an AC unit, and the only window did not have a screen! We went back to the office to discuss our options and felt like we were talking to two people who just happened to be sitting there. Cue the crickets when we asked what could be done about the screenless window situation. The puzzled looks when we expressed no drawer or shelf space screamed "so what?" and the bored response when we informed them that we had broken a glass jar in their roadway, creating a potential for a nasty cut for some barefooted guest stated it all. "I don't know or care about anything that goes on here. I am just paid the minimun to sit here." Although we had lovely views and the walk to town was easy, I believe will will be looking elsewere next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The Beachcomber made it very clear that they were feeling a hit from the economy's recession. They cut back on things like pool hours, room amenities, and cleanliness. For the money that we spent to stay there we would have been better off in a flea bag motel, because then we would have expected such poorly kept accommodations.

The hours for the pool should have been until 7PM. But it closed at 5PM on weekdays and 6PM on the weekend. The management said that they weren't going to pay for a pool attendant for the "extra" hours. The efficiencies had close to NOTHING in terms of cooking utensils. The outside lights on the porches were not installed and they just left exposed wires. The are no laundry facilities for guests. The mattresses were grossly stained. The rooms were not cleaned properly. There were even exposed holes to the sewer in the lawns with a traffic cone on top to cover.

I have stayed at the Beachcomber in years past, and this year we decided would be our last. I would rather camp out then stay there again.

Buyer beware, the Beachcomber is feeling the pitch and offering guests less which terrible management who doesn't care if you are sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Since we hadn't been back to Montauk for 14 years we were a bit concerned that the area hotels might be run down. After reading numerous reviews on various hotels, and getting a recommendation of this one from a good friend, we decided to try the Beachcomber. We were very pleasantly surprised. We found our room to be very clean, no musty smell, no bugs. They had nice thick fluffy towels, plenty of soap, shampoo, etc. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, silverware, etc. The refrigerator and stove were very clean and fairly new. The only recommendations we have are - bring a hairdryer as they did not have one in our room (we had one packed so didn't bother to check with them if they would provide one), and - if you happen to be coming in from the New Montauk Highway vs. the Old, you have to get back on Old Montauk Highway heading away from town. They are a short distance then on the right, but you can only see their sign from the other direction. We arrived very late on a rainy night and passed it because there is no sign facing you from that direction. Looks like they had a nice pool but we didn't get a chance to use it. We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We wanted a weekend in Montauk and booked a room according to the great reviews on Trip Advisor for the Beachcomber. We weren't disappointed. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was perfect, clean, nicely decorated and renovated and a terrific view of the ocean. The Beachcomber is near to the town too, very convenient. The resort was pretty packed but we didn't hear our neighbors at all. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort At Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort At Montauk

Address: 727 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Beachcomber Resort At Montauk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk Hotel Montauk
Montauk Beachcomber Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort At Montauk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.