We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Beach

Navy Beach
16 Navy Road, Montauk, NY 11954
+1 631-668-6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Navy Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shore Road
Transit: Montauk Train station is a short walk away or a 5 minute cab ride.
Description: Montauk’s favorite beachfront restaurant and bar, Navy Beach is a laid-back, family-friendly waterfront restaurant offering a memorable dining experience in a beach setting with casual coastal cuisine and breathtaking sunsets. Navy Beach is all about location, positioned on a 200-foot private beach in Montauk, Newsday named it on of the top five water view dining spots on the East End. Boaters are welcome to safely anchor in the protected waters of Fort Pond Bay. The restaurant and bar are open for lunch and dinner daily in season beginning at 12pm. Check the website for specific hours of operation and special events including live music on select weekends.
Staten Island ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must go restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is geared to providing the patron with a fabulous experience. The food is excellent (You have to try the seafood gaspacho UMM!). All the staff are friendly, welcoming and very good at what they do. Sunsets are breathtaking, the people watching is so much fun, and the bustle and buzz is all good. My family and I had a great time, a fabulous meal, and a fitting end to our great Montauk vacation. We will go back again as often as we can. Thanks Navy Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    24
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great for dinner, drinks and sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a big family dinner at 530pm. We ate outside and had a great time. Good food, great drinks and nice view. The service was good (but a bit slow). But no real complaints. Great place for a late summer dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had dinner here for my bachelorette party last year and loved it! The menu is not as varied as I would like, especially as I have some allergies, but I still found great food to eat and the atmosphere was definitely a party!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLMSTED FALLS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worst ever. one star too much”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

the worst of the worst salad was wilted, ribs were burned ,soup was cold ,sent back ribs and salad did not eat,was still charged. they did not care at all .best part of the nite was the valet got our car fast so we could escape the nitemare.stay as far away from this place as possable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great sunset! An excellent overall experience - hence the 5 rating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great place to enjoy the sunset and to experience an excellent outdoor setting area - there are small and large picnic tables, as well as tables that have bean bag chairs to use as seats; also, they have lounge beds for seating and eating, too. It is kind of like - Montauk meets the Hamptons, but still very much has the Montauk feel, which we feel is very important, as Montauk is a very different vibe from the Hamptons, and we hope it stays that way.

This was our first time here and won't be the last. I do recommend making reservations, which we did not. Fortunately, we were sat near the door and window that got us as close to outside as you can without being outside. There is a deck next to us on the other side of the door that we would go out onto to take pictures and take it all in better. Later on the moved us to a couple of seats on the other side of the window outside on the deck for dessert, which was nice.

The staff was attentive, nice and gregarious. Emily was our server and she did an excellent job. Lauren, a manager, was also very nice and filled us in on more things to know about the restaurant, as both were fun to talk to (as was Brittney). We really enjoyed our interaction with the staff.

The food was very good. We look forward to going again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navy Beach also viewed

 

Been to Navy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.