We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to Montauk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lido Resort Motel
5 South Emery St., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
1 review
“Another great trip to Montauk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Last month, a group of us spent 9 days at the Lido Motel in Montauk and it was just awesome.
The location was great (out of the fray but within walking distance to all the bars/shops). The rooms were cleaned daily, the staff is very friendly and accommodating (extra towels/utensils- no problem). We had a grill for barbecuing (which we did almost every night). We had our own picnic table and chairs right outside our door, free beach towels, chairs and umbrellas (so we didnt have to bring/buy any) and they have a really great pool if you dont feel like the beach.*I've never seen this before, but the bottom of the pool has been painted grey which is really cool looking). The owners - Patti and Jim- are very welcoming and gave us great local insight and recommendations that were spot on. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: we always choose the efficiency room because it has a small kitchen and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattio50, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. It is always a pleasure having you and your goup here. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

1. The pool was filthy. It clearly had not been cleaned this season. The form we signed upon check-in claimed that the Lido was liable for keeping the pool 'sanitary', however, I feared that if I swam in their pool I would immediately grow a third eye.

2. The shower also looked like it had not been cleaned this season. We went to the shop for flip flops because we couldn't fathom being barefoot in the stall.

3. The power went out 3 times in two days. The second time it was dusk and we had to bathe in the aforementioned shower in pitch black. The owners were unavailable during the power outages and another guest and I had to investigate and try to solve the issue. We also had to go to dinner with soaking wet hair.

4. FIRE ALARM - missing from our room. When we brought it to the owners attention, assuming she'd be concerned, we were told that guests often disable the fire detectors to smoke (lovely). She asked us to check the room ourselves to see if someone had stashed it in a drawer. She then informed us that nothing would be done until after our stay. We looked up whether or not this is legal; a hotel room without a fire alarm---guess what? It's not.

5. All of this for $250 a night!! $70 a night is a reasonable asking price for this flea bag motel resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattio50, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
So sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. I believe you did not realize that our pool has a gray marble dusted bottom, which attracts the heat better. It is not dirty, that is the color of the bottom. The pool is crystal clear, but the color probably confused you.

The rooms are kept spotless, as can be confirmed by the other reviews. As to the power outage, the constant use of the higher power hair dryers and flat irons short circuits the breakers. My husband and I were on property to immediately repair the shortgage that was caused by the repeated overloads, in spite of us asking people NOT to continue the act that overloads the circuits.

$ 250 a night for a weekend in Montauk in August is a very good price. Sometimes, when people are not used to the prices in the area , they do not understand that. Maybe the next time you come to Montauk you should try the Yacht Club, they might satisfy your requirements better. I believe their rooms are $ 699 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for a night this summer. It was an amazing experience. We checked in late around 6pm. The owners were very friendly. Gave us good suggestion on where to eat. We had dinner right around the corner. The next day we checkout, but we were still allowed to use the beach chairs and towels for the beach. We hung out at the beach for a few hours and took a dip in the pool and left. I would totally recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattio50, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. I do have to point out that we
are NOT directly on the beach, but across the street. Thanks for coming, come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've been going to the Lido for years now and each year it gets better.

The Lido is ideally located in the middle of Montauk and just two short blocks from the beach. The owners, Patty & Jim, really care about keeping their place in top form & have been wonderful hosts to us over the years. We always stay in the efficiency rooms in the front which have a small kitchen & fridge -- which is perfect for cooking meals. They also have a BBQ which you can use to grill. The rooms are always clean, the beds comfortable, the AC strong & the bathrooms decent. They also have a great pool across the street & let you borrow anything you might need to make your beach stay more enjoyable (from umbrellas to paddle boards!).

We've stayed at several other places in Montauk over the years prior to finding the Lido, but now only stay with them when we go out there -- their place is terrific & filled with great amenities, plus the service has always been wonderful. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The front efficiency rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattio50, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Every year we try to add more and more amenities for our guests to enjoy. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a great week at the Lido! The place is immaculate, free wifi and a beautiful pool right on the lake. We had a one bedroom kitchenette which saved us lots of money on breakfast and lunch. It's within walking distance to everywhere, right off of main street. The staff is gracious and accomidating. They offer chairs and towels and a place to park even on the day of checkout. Patti, the owner, was a sweetheart, and the day before we were supposed to leave, she offered us another night at a deeply discounted rate. Of course we accepted and had another glorious day in the sun! We have been coming to Montauk for years, and always stay at the Lido, the most affordable place in town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattio50, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thanks for the glowing review. We try hard to make your visit as best as possible. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I went to the lido last weekend for three nights. We stayed in an efficiency room which included a comfortable, clean, queen bed, full mini kitchen, bathroom with stand up shower. The air conditioning worked great, in fact we found we had to keep lowering it so we didn't freeze! The kitchen area was great for having coffee and tea and snacks and drinks with us whenever we wanted. The stand up shower water knobs were a little tricky, but nothing my husband couldn't fix in ten seconds. The best part is that we were literally in town and only two minutes to the beach, which is across a street. We walked everywhere. The only time we used the car was when we took a drive to gosmans dock at the lake. Overall, the room was clean, generous amount of towels, bed comfy, cool a/c, close to everything, daily housecleaning. Loved it here and looking forward to returning soon. This is montauk...you don't come here if you are pretentious and looking for luxury. You come here to relax and enjoy the best beach there is on long island! It was also a nice touch having gliders outside the room as well as a barbecue grill, patio furniture and umbrellas!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for trying to set people straight about the negative reviews written in retaliation for enforcement of payment. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family and I had a great stay at the Lido Motel. It was a 3 minute walk to the beach and had clean rooms & a full kitchenette (very handy when you're dealing with a toddler menu and food schedule!) Even though it's central and walkable, it's just off the main drag right around the corner from a great ice cream place, it's not isolated, so it's very safe. Not being right near the other motels on the beach meant we didn't have the constant noise of fireworks keeping our little one awake, another great point. Patti and her staff were very nice and accommodating, and we had the best mini-vacation we've had in a long time!

Room Tip: For added quiet, you can request a room in the second area, away from the main building and the Harv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lido Resort Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We try to please and appreciate any suggestions on how to make our customer's vacation here better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lido Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Resort Motel

Address: 5 South Emery St., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lido Resort Motel to your Saves list