We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel with kind staff and awesome views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa to your Saves list
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
New York
1 review
“An amazing hotel with kind staff and awesome views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Can't say enough amazing things about this hotel. The staff is beyond helpful and friendly. The food is out of this world! It really is a great place for a getaway, whether you take your trip in the winter or summer. I can't wait for the next visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    98
    43
    40
    38
See reviews for
75
156
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

You can't beat this location... right on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean. We could not have had a better time. The Spa was my very favorite activity. Gurney's brings pampering to a new level. I have been to many spa's, and this is right up there with the best. The food, service and view from the facilities was incredible. Don't miss all the shopping in the nearby "bowntown area".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIsland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and I have been going to Gurney's for business and pleasure for a few years. We have never been disappointed. The staff is friendy and accomodating and the food is equal to any gourmet restaurant that we have frequented. We just took our adult children and grandchildren for a brief stay in September. They were blown away. They couldn't thank us enough. We will return soon. Can't stay away too long before we need a "Gurney's Fix."

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

My sister and I celebrated her 50th birthday with a weekend at Gurneys. She used to live in Montauk and hadn't been back in many years. It was the perfect gift. We had a cottage right on the ocean which was amazing. The service and the food were excellent. We each had a massage that was heavenly and waking up to the sunrise each morning was fantastic. The weather was gorgeous that weekend and we walked barefoot in the sand each morning and evening. It was a wonderful time to spend together and where else but in Montauk, Long Island. A dream come true.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Gurney's Inn is located just outside the quaint town of Montauk on the very easternmost tip of Long Island, NY. The sprawling property is located on dramatic oceanfront. I have been to Gurney's many times, from treating our vacationing guests, spending the night with my hubby, going to shows and performances, or just having an elegant lunch while looking at the ocean waves. Our daughter had her First Communion celebration there. She got older and she had her Sweet 16 there. She is older, still, and now wants to have her wedding there. My family has grown up with Gurney's.

Of course, a day trip to the spa, with the indoor saltwater pool, was a must on many occasions for me and my girlfriends. Ah...there is nothing better than "getting away from it all" at a low-key yet upscale oceanfront location in a spa, getting a massage, and having a glass of champagne over lunch.

Just a few miles away is wonderful Montauk, with its sea-themed activities, fresh seafood, and the famous Montauk Lighthouse.

Obviously I love Gurney's or I wouldn't have been countless times. It draws me back over and over again. Of course, their public relations department helps. Ingrid, who's been in the public relations department for years, is always friendly and ready to lend a helping hand however she can, and she's probably part of the reason we love going there. She always makes us feel welcome and she makes us feel loved, unusual for a business in this day and age.

Go to Gurney's? GO GO GO! That's what we say...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We've been coming to Gurney's for several years now, for 1 week in summer. The four of us have come to expect several constants: fantastic spa and spa personnel, superb beachfront location and surreal views from our oceanfront room, and an overall atmosphere of relaxation. Perhaps the restaurant doesn't have the best menu or the quickest dinner service (sometimes we found ourselves sitting without food for an hour or more,) but that's the only part of our experience that could have been improved. In the restaurant's defense, The Wednesday Lobster Bake is great.
If you want a peaceful vacation or a weekend at an incredible Montauk landmark, if you are looking for a world-class spa and spa treatments, if you like to swim and enjoy lobster, then this is a must!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

First of all let me say, location, location, location. Outside of Montauk. At the edge of the crashing surf. My husband and I fell asleep to the sounds of the sea. We stayed in a fairly large, well appointed oceanfront stateroom. Incredible views. Updated decor, granite countertops, fresh, not musty considering it's oceanfront location. Large private balcony with chaise lounges. Lovely, expansive private beach. Food at Montes( in house restaurant )was great. A wide variety. Expertly prepared. Utilized room service instead of dinning at the restaurant and food was delivered quickly, hot and always by courteous staff. Front desk staff were friendly and professional, helping us select a room upon check in, giving us the best rate possible. Despite our short stay, it felt like a week. Will surely return over and over.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique resort, seawater spa and conference center is perched on the brink of one of the world's finest private, wide, white sandy ocean beaches. We are located in Montauk, New York, better known as the sportfishing capital of the world! Only minutes away from the world famous Hamptons but a world apart from the pretense and glamour. Boasting the only true thalasso therapy spa in the continental U.S.A.,our authentic seaside resort will provide the escape you've been looking for. Celebrating over 85 years of on-premise family ownership and management, we invite you to become a member of the international Gurney's family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.