We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach but stairs, stairs and more stairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa to your Saves list
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Montauk
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Beach but stairs, stairs and more stairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we just wanted a beach escape. The first night we were in one of the older building which was oceanfront. The balcony was very private however there was no real air movement due to the side walls blocking it. The next 2 nights we were supposed to be in an oceanfront king in the new building where the rooms are all renovated. We ended up with a oceanfront queen with 2 beds and as the hotel was sold out our only option was to take that or go back to our old room. As there was a large airy balcony we decided to stay in that room. The only downside is that there are just planters between balconies so you hear and see your neighbors. The hotel itself was very nice however be aware that you will constantly be climbing stairs. Most of the buildings have no elevator or ramps and it is a very large property so prepare for a hike to your room and even more so to the beach. The beach itself was wonderful! Plenty of lounge chairs, great music and good service for lunch and drinks. One of the focal points of the hotel was the deck/firepit area off the main lobby and restaurant. It was a gathering point for drinks before and after dinner with many enjoying a fine cigar. We found that most people had been going there for many years. We enjoyed ourselves and will probably return next year with planning in advance to secure the accommodations that we want.

Room Tip: The new oceanfront rooms are definitely the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you like non existent service, overpriced mediocre food, a refurbished smelly room with air conditioning that would wake up the dead, all for $900 a night, then this place is for you!
Sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucksSucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks sucks

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear mrmrsteve,

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the resort and your stay with us!

We're in the final planning stages of renovating the other rooms this winter and addressing these concerns. As it relates to the service, we have no excuse and should provide the highest level of service no matter what the business levels dictate.

Please contact me directly to discuss further, as I'd like to hear more so we can fine tune these areas.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
General Manager
michaeln@gurneysmontauk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Started off going out to Montauk with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. This was a last minute decision and we booked the most expensive room $1225.00 with taxes and resort fee $1650.00 for 1 night. My husband has had 4 back surgeries so I needed a room that was steps from the beach. We decided to splurge and have a wonderful day with the "Luxuries and Amenities" Gurneys has been so famous for for years. Let me mention I am home and not at the resort where I reserved this room securely as I write this. We arrived early and went to the beach as the room of course wasn't ready. (check in 4PM) Tyler was very nice and greeted us and set up our chairs for us. They don't put your towels down but expect the same gratuity as if they do, thats the small of it, the umbrella was also broken. The main issue was that once we went to lunch (poor service, no beach service unless you rent a cabana) and we called to see if the room was ready, did i mention a very unhappy girl at the front desk to welcome you to this paradise…we called the front desk at 2PM to check on the room as they said they would expedite it at check out (11AM) and we should hear from them within a couple hours after. It was 2PM and the response was "no rooms have been released to us yet" Obviously no communication as my husband's cell rang shortly after and was informed that our room was not available, and they would be putting us in a room across the parking lot a 10 minute walk to the beach and dining. They were going to now comp the room, per the message from Barbara as per the instruction of the manager. I explained the need to be close to the beach and on the first level or 2nd as promised when booking with Margarita. Handicap access is minimal to non existent here. At this point I was quite insulted. We booked the room and as we understood later on when Michael contacted us in the car on our way home, the current guest was intoxicated and refused to leave the room. That isn't my problem, call your security office or the police and remove him. I worked in a hotel and we are professionals, this excuse is an insult. We drove 2 hours to get there and because there was only 1 night available, we took it. We were contacted again by Barbara who then said she would call us back. Now 2:30PM, by 3PM my husband called to let them know we were leaving. She said Michael, the manager was looking for us at the beach. Michael, if you wanted to speak to us, you had our contact number, how could you find us on your beach with 1000 other people? Michael did reach us an hour or so later and offered us a return at his expense. You should have taken care of us or just provided what we were paying for while we were there. I guess the freebie works for others but not in our case on this day. Clean house Michael and since you are from the Four Seasons, bring it and repair the major mess that Gurneys now is. Seems like you are trying to create a Neptune from West Hampton of many years ago. Guests aren't happy. People were complaining on the beach. Your valet system? You do need one. The rest room at the beach, is there a transformer next door? The voltage in that room seemed very high. I cannot believe i am home writing this awful review about Gurneys on my island. Long Island.

Room Tip: i don't have a room tip because we never got into a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear maryellen k,

My sincere apologies again for the issues that occurred yesterday. As discussed on the phone last night, I'm truly sorry for the other guests not wanting to leave and for the fact that I wasn't able to rectify it prior to you leaving for your home. As offered, I'd love to welcome you both back for a re-invite so you can enjoy your anniversary the way you expected.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Let me begin with: we have never ever left a review for anything, good or bad. This is an absolute disappointment. We travel a ton, but only once a year without the kids, for our anniversary. We expected the best possible service since we are paying a pretty penny for it here. Forget about price for room, the resort fees....not sure why we had to pay them. Upon checkin we were told to go have lunch at scarpetta to wait for room, worst service we've ever had in NYC. Hostess was on phone and wouldn't raise her head to help or seat us for 10 minutes until we just came outside and sat ourselves. Again, no biggie. Took 30 minutes to order and get our drinks. Burgers came out on a slab of wood with a tiny container of ketchup, no lettuce no tomatoes, when we asked three different waiters for a knife at least and more ketchup, we were told by one waiter "not your server", another stared at our table for five minutes to make sure we really needed a knife, and another went and actually found our original waiter to finally bring us our stuff. Next: at the beach, asked cocktail waitress for drinks, came back when we were out cold, an hour later. Today, waited for cappuccino for half hour and smoothies another half. Now at the beach, asked one waitress to come take order, she said she's getting a pen...never returned, asked another waitress, never came over. Went to the bar ourselves, asked for an ice bucket and ordered beers cocktails and water, took those back ourselves by which time the original one came back and asked us, after seeing a full bucket, whether we still needed something. The bartenders at the bar barely turned their heads to answer what kind of beers they have btw. At this point we will enjoy the beautiful views, and weather and the three nights away from kids, but a huge disappointment and will not be returning next year. One more thing, upon checking into our room, my husband plopped onto the bed, which was soaked. Apparently the comforter was soaking wet because of some lame excuse about spraying to get the creases out. And that's the story. Sorry for the long review, but fuming!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear AmSten1,

Thank you for the feedback and I'm so sorry to hear about your experience on the Tillie's Patio for lunch. I'd love to chat with you further regarding the issues, so I may correct them with the staff.

Please contact me at your convenience.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
General Manager
michaeln@gurneysmontauk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 515, a king bed room with a partial ocean view. The room was so small we could not open our three pieces of luggage. We had been traveling two weeks and were very unhappy with the room. Bathroom is equally small with inadequate space for two persons toiletries. All this for $950 a night including ding taxes

The beach is fabulous. Excellent chaise Lounges and umbrella set ups. Food and drink service on beach was the very best.

This is the best hotel in Montauk, but very expensive. Ocean front rooms which I was advised were a little larger are $1300 a night tax included!

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stanley G,

Thank you for the feedback regarding the your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that the room was too small and we're looking at these things for the renovation of these rooms this winter.

We agree that we're the best in Montauk and the Hamptons and we do hope that you join us for the upgraded rooms next year!

Regards,

Michael Nenner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was unfriendly and fairly aloof -- definitely expected better given the price ($750+/night) and location.

Both check-in and check-out took forever, and each time our desk clerk was interrupted by another worker while we were being helped.

There is a snack counter/coffee bar off the lobby which looked promising, but the two staff working it were lazy and seemed disinterested in helping anyone or moving fast. Service at the casual restaurant was no better, and the food was nothing special.

Although the beach and location were nice, the stay at the property was pretty disappointing.... will try another hotel/resort on our next trip to Montauk.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael_nenner, General Manager at Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MrLee612,

I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't perfect. I'd like to chat with you further if possible and ask that you contact me at the information below.

Regards,

Michael Nenner
General Manager
michaeln@gurneysmontauk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited the new and improved Gurney's. We were excited to have a family vacation on the beach with my two sons age 6 and 10. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and our first 2 days were great the kids loved the beach and the new updated room was very nice. Unfortunately, the hotel turns into a disco on Saturday and Sunday with a DJ playing loud music all afternoon to 7pm without a pause for quiet. My sense is that most of the crowd were not hotel guests which is disappointing since my room cost over $1000 per night to subsidize the party scene of the Hamptons. Bottom line....if you frequent high end resorts and are ok with paying top dollar for an exquisite experience...don't take your family to Gurney's. Better value, service and experience elsewhere. Gurney's needs to figure out who their client is and market to them...in my opinion they are still trying to figure it out. Also, the hotel has major accessibility issues for people with disabilities.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.1 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#9 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#8 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
2.7 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
2.8 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#13 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Montauk's most pristine stretch of oceanfront real estate, Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa is a Hampton's icon and the only four-season resort in Montauk. Providing guests with direct access to a 1,000 ft. Private sand beach, Gurney's features 109 rooms, suites and beachfront cottages, each with dramatic ocean views. With five unique dining and cocktail venues, guests can enjoy a wide range of dining options, from elegant seasonal cuisine to casual fare to grab-and-go cafe favorites. All of Gurney's venues feature spectacular ocean views, none more so than The Beach Club, which provides the only on-beach dining experience in the Hamptons. No trip to Gurney's is complete without visiting The Seawater Spa, featuring Roman baths, Finnish rock saunas, a fitness center, and our world-famous indoor/outdoor sand-filtered, ocean-fed, heated seawater pool. The Seawater Spa is the only authentic Thalasso Center in the continental United States and offers customized thalasso therapies, harnessing the healing and restorative properties of the sea. The spa also offers a wide range of innovative spa services including uniquely tailored massages, facials and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.