We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest hotel in Montauk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa to your Saves list
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Greatest hotel in Montauk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Been coming to this hotel for over 20 years with my family and this hotel had yet to cause a problem. This is a gem on the ocean that you shouldn't miss. You should also definitely go the hotel spa. The spa is extremely clean and they make you feel so welcome. The waiters and the waitresses all do a wonderful job on the food and are always friendly.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    99
    43
    40
    38
See reviews for
75
157
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I had both of my children's baptism luncheon at the restaurant and Ginny, the event planner was very friendly and very accomodating. Service and food was excellent! I would absolutely recommend Gurney's for formal, casual or any events. =)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room accommodations were everything we had been promised. View of the ocean with balcony, tastefully decorated room that was clean and orderly. Spa was excellent. Meals were very good and ample and the staff made us feel like more than guests, almost like friends.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the ocean, with a balcony, in one of the separate buildings. It is more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Gurney's is a perfect rest and relaxation destination. Expect a lot of quiet time if going in the off season. The view from the beachside room is spectacular. The room was updated, peaceful and nicely decorated. The spa was nice, we used it everyday of our trip.
We will definitely be returning again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had our wedding at Gurneys Inn and got married on Saturday November 9th 2013, everything was perfect! John Ovanessian worked with us to plan the entire day from the second we booked Gurneys a year earlier. I could write a novel about each detail but if you're reading this here is what you need to know... John was on point along with Z. The entire day was scheduled and went without a hitch, the ceremony went as planned if not better than we could have imagined, there are no words to describe the cocktail party and raw bar, and the food at the reception was amazing. Throughout the night we never had an empty drink and anytime we needed anything John or Z were there to take care of us. Additionally our 5 day stay there was outstanding, everything we needed or wanted was taken care of by there wonderful staff. Not to mention beautiful rooms and the beds that we never wanted to get out of. There is nothing like falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. Lastly, I cannot forget to mention the spa; unbelievable massages and incredible atmosphere. We couldn't have been more relaxed. All in all this was a 5 star event thanks to everyone at Gurneys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've been enjoying the Yoga Weekend at Gurney's for several years now, although we don't spend as much time as we probably should at all of the classes offered, we do make our way around the complex, enjoying the beach walks, Spa facilities and most important, the company of dear friends!

The weekend is all-inclusive and includes room, two breakfasts and two dinners along with use of the spa and facilities...roman baths, saunas, beautiful enclosed salt-water pool and a gym. Individual spa treatments are extra. Much of the facility has recently been updated and is bright and lovely. The restaurant was very nice and the food tasty and consistent. While the relatively new daily "resort fee" is a bit disappointing and somewhat confusing, overall, I still consider this weekend a great deal.

While all of the staff are friendly and attentive, over the years, I've been dealing with Ginny Davis, who is an absolute pleasure and always ensures that things go smooth. Sofi Valenzuela, books our treatments in the Spa, and actually remembers us visit to visit, always a nice touch!

We always leave on Sunday looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was here on a business weekend with hundreds of teachers, and there were both high points and low points. We had a room right on the beach with the most fabulous view which cannot be beat! But the room was in desperate need of a makeover, and it was quite small. The toilet didn't work either, but they did fix it very quickly. A girlfriend had a huge room with two levels, but she was on the other side of the parking lot a long way from the beach. Her tv didn't work and she had no hot water one morning. Speaking of parking, the poor valets. They run like crazy and park cars on the hills, valleys, and even the street, but it still takes forever to get your car when there is a big group. Another thing to keep in mind, the hotel is on a hill, so you must walk lots of stairs, both up and down, to get anywhere on the property. We had to go up, then down, and then up again to get to the dining room. I must say however the food was always excellent and plentiful, with an attentive waitstaff.

Room Tip: Decide which is more important the beach or the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa

Address: 290 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique resort, seawater spa and conference center is perched on the brink of one of the world's finest private, wide, white sandy ocean beaches. We are located in Montauk, New York, better known as the sportfishing capital of the world! Only minutes away from the world famous Hamptons but a world apart from the pretense and glamour. Boasting the only true thalasso therapy spa in the continental U.S.A.,our authentic seaside resort will provide the escape you've been looking for. Celebrating over 85 years of on-premise family ownership and management, we invite you to become a member of the international Gurney's family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney`s Inn Resort, Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Resort Montauk
Gurneys Inn Montauk
Gurneys Hotel Montauk
Gurneys Inn Resort
Gurneys Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.