We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow Park

Save Saved
You added Arrow Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arrow Park
1061 Orange Turnpike, Monroe, NY 10949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Room was not what was shown.
It is not "beachfront" there was no lifeguard and was told to go in lake anyway but after walking down to the lake...the uncleanliness of the area was uncomfortable. The "beach" was chained off.... If you want shades in your room...good luck. There were none in a king suite and you could see right into your neighbors room. They placed an incorrect charge (a $225 accident) and I was told they would cancel it an it was a mistake. Never happened. Had to go to bank to dispute charges. This place is very unprofessional. I would not suggest it at all!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
3
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Arrow Park does have a lovely setting, that is not an issue. We did enjoy one of the hiking trails, stopping to enjoy a small waterfall. Despite advertising a "beach", we were not able to swim in the lake. We understand there not being a lifeguard on duty, but one section was locked off and the other was so small that there would be no point going in the water.
The lodge itself really could be great, but it just seemed very unfinished. Our room had a very nice view, but there were just some little things that made it seem like it was still under construction. There was a lamp on the dresser that did not work... Because it wasn't plugged in due to there not being an outlet. The ceiling fan did have a light, so we weren't totally in the dark. The room did seem a little bare. On the website you see these gorgeously decorated rooms and then we open the door to an almost plain room. There were two painting on the wall, one of which I actually did like a lot. The bathroom was cute but getting a decent temperature out of the shower was a bit of a challenge. Wasn't a huge problem since it was an older style fixture and I am sure the pipes are older. My girlfriend did have a problem with there not being any blinds or curtains. Yes we are out in the woods, but we'd still like some privacy when changing and showering. The bed was pretty comfortable but if you're not one for super soft pillows, you might want to bring one.
I would still say we're doing okay so far. But here's where it takes a turn. We had stayed with a Groupon offer, which was a very nice savings. Having been a travel agent for over a decade, I have been a lot of places and I was a bit surprised to hear the non-discounted rates for Arrow Park. It is a nice place (but could be much better if polished up), but at almost $300 a night for very little, that's a bit of a shock. We had to pay local taxes but we weren't given a receipt. I didn't think much of it but my girlfriend did say something to the effect of, I hope they don't screw up and charge my card again. Well, upon checkout, her card was charged for over $200. We immediately called the lodge and were told that this was an error and they would call the bank right away to take care of this. It is now a week later when I am writing this and it still has not been rectified. I called a few times, one number goes to a number that is unidentified as the lodge or even a person (which I think is pretty unprofessional), and the other number has been busy often. I emailed the lodge and still have yet to hear back. My girlfriend has called and emailed as well as has gotten the same results. It is just super unprofessional to not get back to clients in the first place, but even more so when you take someone's money in error. My go has disputed the charge with the bank, so hopefully we will have an end to this matter soon.
I am not saying this is a bad place to stay, I am just saying it does need slight improvement to polish it up and make it great (and worth the cost). I mentioned the money stuff because others should be aware of it. In these days, every dollar counts and having a couple hundred dollars in limbo does affect people. We were thinking about going again, but I think this situation has tainted that idea totally.

Room Tip: There are some excellent areas to hike surrounding the lodge. We had an excellent hike in the Walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. We appreciate your feedback and are improving our property everyday. We have installed curtains and training the staff to correctly charge credit cards. We hope you will stay with us again and see all the improvements to our property!
Carol Davino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was not what was shown.
It is not "beachfront" there was no lifeguard and was told to go in lake anyway but after walking down to the lake...the uncleanliness of the area was uncomfortable. The "beach" was chained off.... If you want shades in your room...good luck. There were none in a king suite and you could see right into your neighbors room. They placed an incorrect charge (a $225 accident) and I was told they would cancel it an it was a mistake. Never happened. Had to go to bank to dispute charges. This place is very unprofessional. I would not suggest it at all!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are very sorry for your unpleasant stay and we appreciate your feedback. We have installed curtains and the beach is open for business. We hope you will give us a second chance and see the improvements we have made.
Carol Davino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Discovered this magical place by sheer luck on the web, and never wanted to leave when our time to go arrived. The natural setting is simply magnificent and breathtaking!!! The staff is professional welcoming, funny and laid back. Our beds were super comfy and sharing the loo is much less hassle than we ever anticipated. Absolutely will be back as soon as we can!!! My photos will speak for themselves!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Carol Davino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Woodbury Commons. Arrived exhausted at around 9.30pm, expecting to relax after a long drive and a long day. We had read the reviews and were expecting an idyllic retreat. I guess we have different expectations!
We couldn't even turn around in our tiny room. It was not big enough for two people. There was a tiny bed, a chest of drawers, a lamp and a chair. That's it. All mismatched and ancient, and not in a charming way. No curtains so we were completely exposed when the interrogation room style overhead light was on. The bathrooms were disgusting, shared is bad enough but they were dirty and ancient. I didn't want to touch anything. The owner loudly showed guests to their rooms twice after ten thirty pm, waking us up both times. No soundproofing so we were then treated to the sounds of lovemaking from the room beside, and all the bathroom sounds of our fellow guests. We woke early and left as soon as we could, so I can't speak to the breakfast. There was no way we would have stayed a minute longer than we had to. Horrible start to a birthday weekend for us, thankfully redeemed by a lovely hotel in New York City the following day. While we weren't expecting the standard to be that of an NYC hotel, this creepy, disgusting, cramped hotel still fell far short of expectations and I shudder to think of it. I would say it needs to be updated, painted, renovated, but actually I think it just needs to be torn down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our mansion is an Italian Style Villa set on a lake. We are a bed and breakfast with 12 rooms. 6 of our rooms have a shared bath, like a hostel in Europe. Some guests are expecting a hotel type atmosphere and do not expect what our lodge has to offer. We apologize that you were not aware of our accomodations.
Carol Davino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited family in Monroe, NY in September and wanted to stay somewhere unique. A family member recommended Arrow Park and we quickly booked online.The whole place was amazing. It felt like you were stepping back in time as you walked through the hallways. Everything was immaculately clean and perfectly decorated. The innkeeper was very welcoming and gracious throughout our stay. We were the only people staying there that night so had the whole place to ourselves. You cannot beat the beauty of the grounds. Would definitely recommend staying here when in Monroe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Wow! It makes us so happy when our customers have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This great old villa set up on the side of a charming lake was the perfect location for us to catch our breath after a harrowing stay in NYC. The house is beautiful and offers amazing views of the surrounding forest and lake. A very romantic place for a getaway, and loads of neat architecture for Art Nouveau fans. The lake was full of water lillies which opened in the morning sun as we had our breakfest out on the patio. There are lots of fun family friendly activities in the area, a swimming beach including boats to go out on the lake and hiking paths which start just out the door of the hotel. Everyone was extremely kind and helpful, it was a wonderful stay and we will definately return on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow Park

Address: 1061 Orange Turnpike, Monroe, NY 10949
Location: United States > New York > Monroe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arrow Park Lake, inspired by the rustic beauty and charm of Europe, lies Arrow Park Lodge. A place of refuge and relaxation, we provide the perfect oasis for a getaway with family and friends. Guests will enjoy 53 acres of sparkling waters, with scenic hiking trails and easy access to the Appalachian Trail. Spend the day swimming, boating, fishing, or simply exploring the grounds and taking in all that we have to offer. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Arrow Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.