We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arrow Park to your Saves list
Arrow Park
1061 Orange Turnpike, Monroe, NY 10949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here after a trip to Woodbury Commons. Arrived exhausted at around 9.30pm, expecting to relax after a long drive and a long day. We had read the reviews and were expecting an idyllic retreat. I guess we have different expectations!
We couldn't even turn around in our tiny room. It was not big enough for two people. There was a tiny bed, a chest of drawers, a lamp and a chair. That's it. All mismatched and ancient, and not in a charming way. No curtains so we were completely exposed when the interrogation room style overhead light was on. The bathrooms were disgusting, shared is bad enough but they were dirty and ancient. I didn't want to touch anything. The owner loudly showed guests to their rooms twice after ten thirty pm, waking us up both times. No soundproofing so we were then treated to the sounds of lovemaking from the room beside, and all the bathroom sounds of our fellow guests. We woke early and left as soon as we could, so I can't speak to the breakfast. There was no way we would have stayed a minute longer than we had to. Horrible start to a birthday weekend for us, thankfully redeemed by a lovely hotel in New York City the following day. While we weren't expecting the standard to be that of an NYC hotel, this creepy, disgusting, cramped hotel still fell far short of expectations and I shudder to think of it. I would say it needs to be updated, painted, renovated, but actually I think it just needs to be torn down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our mansion is an Italian Style Villa set on a lake. We are a bed and breakfast with 12 rooms. 6 of our rooms have a shared bath, like a hostel in Europe. Some guests are expecting a hotel type atmosphere and do not expect what our lodge has to offer. We apologize that you were not aware of our accomodations.
Carol Davino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    1
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited family in Monroe, NY in September and wanted to stay somewhere unique. A family member recommended Arrow Park and we quickly booked online.The whole place was amazing. It felt like you were stepping back in time as you walked through the hallways. Everything was immaculately clean and perfectly decorated. The innkeeper was very welcoming and gracious throughout our stay. We were the only people staying there that night so had the whole place to ourselves. You cannot beat the beauty of the grounds. Would definitely recommend staying here when in Monroe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Wow! It makes us so happy when our customers have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This great old villa set up on the side of a charming lake was the perfect location for us to catch our breath after a harrowing stay in NYC. The house is beautiful and offers amazing views of the surrounding forest and lake. A very romantic place for a getaway, and loads of neat architecture for Art Nouveau fans. The lake was full of water lillies which opened in the morning sun as we had our breakfest out on the patio. There are lots of fun family friendly activities in the area, a swimming beach including boats to go out on the lake and hiking paths which start just out the door of the hotel. Everyone was extremely kind and helpful, it was a wonderful stay and we will definately return on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

After doing some internet searches for a hotel near a particular museum we wanted to see - -Arrow Park was discovered in a random search.
The pictures looked great and hotel had interesting history – so we called and made a reservation.
Upon arrival – WOW! As soon as you drive along the long tree lined driveway – you arrive at ‘photo opportunity’ central. Just beautiful and incredibly peaceful. Artistic beauty everywhere – I couldn’t get my camera out fast enough.
We stayed in the lake view room – 4 huge windows overlooking the forest and pristine lake. White linen curtain gently blowing breeze. Room was free of clutter – visual peace. It was so quiet! Bathroom had two story skylight and old fashioned tub.
We only stayed one night – but we swam, hiked, sat and read -- talked and just had such a relaxing time. The outside world felt so far away.
Breakfast was filling – yogurt, fruit, cereal, bagels and cream cheese – excellent coffee too!
As we left - -we booked another stay – this time bringing the kids!

Room Tip: 'Lake view' provides added beauty to the entire experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol D, General Manager at Arrow Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Your review captures what Arrow Park is all about! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

A unique retreat with a beautiful private lake for swimming and row boating amidst an old growth forest adjacent to Sterling Forest. Don't look for frills and luxury, for while the property's main house is an historic mansion featured in the Architectural Record of 1916, it has basic, monastic type clean rooms. Fresh air, but very spartan, no television or internet access - makes it a true retreat for me. Simple food available in the DR overlooking the lake.
Described in the Digest as a "permanent wilderness camp" with a villa on a precipice overlooking the lake, it is ideally located an hour from NYC and 15 minutes to Woodbury Premium Outlet. Rooms are not heated or air conditioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. Some rooms have private baths, most share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrow Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow Park

Address: 1061 Orange Turnpike, Monroe, NY 10949
Location: United States > New York > Monroe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arrow Park Lake, inspired by the rustic beauty and charm of Europe, lies Arrow Park Lodge. A place of refuge and relaxation, we provide the perfect oasis for a getaway with family and friends. Guests will enjoy 53 acres of sparkling waters, with scenic hiking trails and easy access to the Appalachian Trail. Spend the day swimming, boating, fishing, or simply exploring the grounds and taking in all that we have to offer. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Arrow Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.