We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Pleased the Whole Family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA VERA CUCINA

LA VERA CUCINA
43 Hillside Ter, Ste A, Monroe, NY 10950-2545
845-774-3340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rockland County, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It Pleased the Whole Family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For every occasion, our family goes out to eat to celebrate. We are 6 adults and 2 children under 5. It is very difficult to find a good restaurant convenient for everyone, kid-friendly, affordable (we pick up the tab) with good food, efficient service and pleasant atmosphere. This restaurant is now at the top of our list of wonderful restaurants. Everyone really enjoyed the food, especially the three fussy eaters. My penne ala vodka was delicious and my apple tart dessert could not be beat. The prices are moderate and the entrees come with salads. Portions are large and their is a big selection of entrees.

We had a nice round table outside on the porch. It was perfect for the children, as they enjoyed the view standing in the corner of the porch when they finished eating waiting for the rest of us to finish. They were safe and out of the way from the other customers.

I’ve been to their sister restaurant in Suffern (Tripadvisor lists it as Vera Cucina) that also has excellent food, but I think the atmosphere is a little nicer here. Both restaurants are worth going back to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    30
    15
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Tastes Like Grandma is in the Back cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Home cooked meals.. friendly staff... Great for family ...

Aspargas Appetizer wrapped in Proscuitto and eggplant with Gorganzola Cheese and aged balsamic was OFF the Charts good...
Followed by Chicken Francese so fresh & tender - Huge portions which is great cause I got to enjoy it again for lunch the next day!!! (just as good, an excellent re-heat)
I'll be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years but have noticed a decline in food and service. My husband's dinner came and it was the wrong dish...The waiter said sorry and took it back and did not offer him anything else. We shared my meal. Waiter could not careless. We will not return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Insults and poor management - my three hour ordeal.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I brought a party of eleven to La Vera Cucina for my daughter's graduation (yes, we had a reservation). Our waiter was a nice enough guy, and took our orders promptly. However, once the service started, so did the antics. In the amount of time it took for our table to get through appetizers and salad, we watched a party of five complete their ENTIRE MEAL! Two hours into service we were still waiting for our mains, and the owner never showed his face - our waiter was sent to do all of the apologies, and we were given a round of drinks on the house. Now nobody ordered anything unusual, so there was a no reason for the delay. We watched food going out into the main dining room while we waited, and all we got were more apologies. Again, even though staff knew we were unhappy, the owner (who was there) never showed his face at our table. We were finally served dinner at 11:00, and after that we were given coffee on the house. When the bill came, it was $430, and we now asked for the owner so we could discuss the bill. He came over and repeated the "we were very busy tonight" line (isn't that why we have a system for reservations?), told the waiter to take another $25 off and walked away without another word. Then a woman (either the owner's wife or the manager) came over, repeated the "we were very busy" excuse, and then told me that we hadn't arrived at 8:40, but rather at 9:30! After telling her that I don't like being called a liar, I handed her my card to pay and said "here- I don't want to discuss this anymore, just ring me out" she wouldn't even take the card from me, instead had the waiter come and run the card, and stood in the dining room clutching a child while she continued to play down the inconvenience (we were now the last people in the restaurant - it was midnight) and things were getting heated because my wife was getting annoyed with the whole experience. As we left, a waitress standing behind three waiters said "yeah nice - very trashy"! My daughter left the restaurant crying.
Now before you dismiss this as a one-off review, feel free to look at my other reviews. I am not a person given to rash behavior, and I have never been so mortified in my life as I was tonight on the eve of my daughter's graduation. My wife and I used to eat here frequently (we live 10 minutes away), and after this, I will never step foot inside it again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just as Lovely the "Second Time Around"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were driving back to Upstate New York from the City, but wanted to eat on the way. We scrolled through the GPS's list of Italian restaurants near Woodbury Commons since we couldn't remember the exact way. We called from the car & were told they could seat us. It was a very busy Saturday night, but we were welcomed at a table for two. My husband had the Veal & Sausage Cacciatore-the wine sauce-sooo good ! I enjoyed the Shrimp Soprano and took half home. Dinners come with house salads - a lovely honey vinegarette dressing. The owner is so friendly - a worth it detour from the Thrruway !!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA VERA CUCINA also viewed

 

Been to LA VERA CUCINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA VERA CUCINA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.