We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Diner is pretty bad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monroe Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monroe Diner
797 State Route 17m, Monroe, NY 10950-2610
845-783-8916
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 62 Restaurants in Monroe
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This Diner is pretty bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I moved to this area from the city in 2004. I've tried this diner, one in Newburgh , another one in Newindsor and several others. And this one is definitely the worst. The only thing good about is convenience if you are from the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were a party of 12 ordering everything from appetizers to drinks to desserts. Our server was cheerful and attentive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great diner food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've eaten at the diner twice and will return if I'm in the mood for comfort food, value and friendly service. I've had both breakfast and lunch. Both times the service was prompt, food was good and service prompt. Who could ask for more?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Monroe diner is probably the worst diner I've ever been to. The service is ok. But the food is just nasty. I don't think I've ever been happy with any food I've ever gotten. One time my boyfriend and I got the lunch specials. And we hardly touched them because they were so gross....but we felt bad so when the waitress asked to pack them up for us we said ok. (We threw the containers in the trash bin outside!!!!!)
Just don't even bother going. The diner 10 minutes away in Chester is way better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Just another average diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is not any sort of dining greatness, or something where you would plan to go to well in advance, or wish to exclaim, "Wow, I'VE BEEN TO THE MONROE DINNER!!!" It's a place to get a quick bite.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monroe Diner also viewed

 

Been to Monroe Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monroe Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.