We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great choice in Middletown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Middletown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Middletown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Crystal Run Crossing, Middletown, NY 10941   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop & Drop Package
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Middletown
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely a great choice in Middletown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The rooms are nice and have conveniences that a lot of other hotels don't offer. They're slightly strange in the way they're set up with all the furniture along one wall and no closet just a wardrobe. However, there's also a refrigerator and a microwave, new tvs and wifi. The bathrooms are also on the diagonal but that's inconsequential and I still found it delightful. The front desk staff for the most part were incredibly friendly and helpful, as were the housekeepers, The gym was small but pretty nice with tvs on each piece of equipment to plug your headphones into and definitely made for a good workout. The breakfast is one of the best parts and I don't usually wake up for breakfast at hotels but I set an alarm for this one and it was totally worth it. Lots of popular restaurants right nearby plus a mall with a Target. I would definitely stay here again for a longer trip. It was convenient and comfy even if it was a little bit dated. Only definite thing I didn't like were the pillows. For some reason they were super hard and rough. I'd stay again though without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Please let me take this opportunity to thank you for your recommendation to other potential travelers. We're delighted to see you enjoyed your visit.

Regarding your pillows, I apologize for the discomfort you experienced. We strive to have an even mix of foam to feather pillows in every room to satisfy everyone's preferences. It appears we may have overlooked this during your stay with us. We will certainly take this as an opportunity to reinforce our pillow standards with our staff. For you next visit please notify us if there is an incorrect ratio of foam to feather pillows in your room. We look forward to providing you with a much better sleep for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    78
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
97
59
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location for food and shopping, easy access to NY-17 and I-84. Friendly desk and breakfast nook staff. There is a bit of an oddity with regards to noise - the restaurant nextdoor plays bar music at odd afternoon/evening/night hours. My night was not as bad it seems considering other reviews. There is a lot more food one more exit up towards Middletown, but in a pinch Outback and Blue Martini (?) are walkable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, thank you for taking time out of your day to post your review. You'll be happy to know that the restaurant with the loud music has closed down and will re-open as a more family friendly restaurant. We hope you enjoy the peace and quiet during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Convenient to NYS 17 and I-84. Easy access. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Rate includes breakfast with wide selection of foods. Popular table-service restaurants are nearby. Front desk staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent visit to Middletown, NY. We are thrilled with your kind response. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here for a recent business stay in Middletown. I was here for a week and I have stayed at a bunch of different Hilton properties.

The Good: Clean Rooms, Large TV with lots of Channels, and I thought the breakfast was good. The gym was standard for a hotel. The pool area looked nice but I never swam. A few chain restaurants that you can walk too and a mall within a few minutes’ drive.

The Bad: I thought the hotel looked very outdated and could use some remodeling (think 1970's). The rooms seem standard but the bathrooms seemed smaller than usual. I thought the staff especially in the afternoon was unfriendly especially one girl Jennifer at the front desk who was on her phone while I was checking in. I did not get my laundry back at the promised 7 pm time, but it was available later that night. My friend had even a bigger debacle with his laundry in which they couldn't locate his laundry and he had to call the laundry service in hopes of finding it. Small Pet Peeve but the TV took forever to change channels and for the new image to come up on the TV (probably not Hampton Inns fault).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is truly vital to hear from our guests so that we may make improvements. I'm encouraged to see there were several good points from your stay with us. I'm also happy to report that we do have some planned upgrades to our hotel this coming winter, including the bathrooms. We have already addressed the issues that arose from the dry cleaning and are positive we will not experience similiar incidents moving forward. Also, thank you for advising us of your guest service concerns. We intend on addressing this immediately. If you have any additional feedback on what we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable please contact me at your leisure. We welcome the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed over Labor day while we were attending a wedding. The front desk service was great with any additional questions we had. The room was clean and housekeeping was wonderful and friendly. Parking was safe and easy with many attractions close by. We will stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We eagerly await your return visit to Middletown and the Hampton Inn. Your excellent feedback is truly valued. Please contact us soon to experience the Hudson Valley in autumn. It's definately the best season to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I am a HHonors diamond and a fan of Hampton properties. This location in Middletown, NY did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and the lobby features comfortable seating, a big TV and hot drink bar (with a nice selection of free magazines and newspapers). What the gym lacked in size was made-up with a top-quality Precor treadmill, elliptical and free weight rack. The rooms are clean, featuring free Internet, fresh linens and large LCD TVs. For the price, you'll be hard-pressed to get a better room off this exit. Very happy with my choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We're delighted to have been your hotel of choice off our exit. We are all looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were in the hotel for 4 nights. Rooms were clean, lobby very pleasant and moring
breakfast very nice.
The staff really made this hotel a very pleasant visit. Nora in the breakfast room was so
helpful, front desk people all so pleasant and even the housekeeping staff were there to make
sure your stay was great. On top of all that the price was a good value.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Guest feedback is such a valuable part of our business. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The entire staff was delighted to see your response. Nora was especially thankful to see her "name in lights". We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Middletown

Address: 20 Crystal Run Crossing, Middletown, NY 10941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Middletown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.