We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff nice,first room disappointing .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Middletown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Middletown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Middletown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Crystal Run Road, Middletown, NY 10941   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Middletown
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Staff nice,first room disappointing .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When my husband and I went into the room, the first thing we noticed was the foyer light wasn't working correctly. It flickered continuously . I became more curious and went to check bed sheets and bathroom. The main issues were long black hair ( I have medium length auburn and my husband has short black) on the bed sheets and on a clean towel in the bathroom. I looked no more and went to call the front desk. The phone didn't work. I just went down myself. May, the very nice staff member called housekeeping and eventually we were moved to another room and given 2 bottles of water,2 bags of chips ,2 free breakfasts and an extra towel. Now the breakfast. Very good! I'm not a fan of Wolfgang Puck coffee. But, Ricardo helped make a better cup of coffee for me . He is a superb waiter and he and Paul are excellent workers.
I'm able to give this hotel 4 stars because of the staff and because once our problem was resolved (just changing our room was enough (we were there 2 nights), we had no further issues :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
34
30
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Babylon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed one night, which was very convenient and clean. The room had a nice set up with a desk, round table & two chairs, two beds, TV, refrigerator, microwave, great sink area with enlarged mirror, and separate bathroom with shower/tub and toilet. The beds were very comfortable; the room and staff were very inviting. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but the menu looked delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of the hotel was not very good, but the room was clean, the staff was very nice and my family loved the indoor pool.
Me and my family liked the hotel, but if I have to book a hotel around that area again, I will look for a place a little more close to the civilization.

Room Tip: Good place for no more than three nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is nice, Nothing stands out as remarkable. My husband and I stayed here for a little getaway. The staff was very nice. The room was clean and I liked the surge protector screwed into the desk for extra outlets. The hotel has and indoor and outdoor pool. The thing I found to be the most odd was they have carpeting around the indoor pool. I don't know how sanitary it is but the room didn't smell musty at all. The one thing is the channel selection isn't very good. A lot of hotels are putting cable boxes in all the rooms. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Middletown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Nancy S,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. We are very glad to read that you chose our hotel for your little getaway and that you found our staff nice. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that you found the channel selections limiting during your stay. We apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced.

As a valued guest, we appreciate all the feedback we receive as this is our best resource for improvement. Should your future travel plans bring you back to the area, we look forward to serving you again when you can enjoy all the hotel amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed one night enroute back to Boston. It had been a long day and we had a tough time finding this place with all the road construction in front of the entrance. Once there we were thrilled. The desk staff charming and helpful. We picked it for outdoor pool which we must have in summer. The pool was amazing; lovely tree shaded grounds, clean, quiet. Perfect for a dip and a bit of sun after the drive. We ate in the hotel for dinner. Wonderful meal, but portions very large, too large. Chicken marsala very tasty. Great bread basket. Wonderful service. We met the manager Matt who was so pleasant and helpful. We would stay there again. The room was spacious, clean, coffee provided. Loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This property deserves about 2-1/2 stars. It does nothing terrible but nothing well either. Depending on price, the nearby Hilton Garden and Courtyards are much nicer alternatives.
-As mentioned by other reviewers, there are a variety of smells going on here. My room required period sprayings of Febreze to help mask stale odor. Definitely not for hypoallergenic guests.
-Rooms have been remodeled including popcorn sprayed on the existing suspended ceiling. There's still wear including sloppy electrical receptacles.
-TIght bathroom space around the toilet. The shower head could be used as high pressure spray washer.
-Noisy wall-mount HVAC.
-WiFi worked well.
-On premise bar
-On premise restaurant offering good breakfasts but any vouchers don't cover the full menu.
-The desk chair was very worn and required pillows.
-The room had a microwave and refrigerator but the refrigerator had to be pulled out and crawled behind to plug its AC cord in.
-The TV had a noisy picture on all of the channels - definitely not HD.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Middletown, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Conraveler,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to hear that the Internet connection worked well for you and that you enjoyed the breakfast selection.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the room condition, particularly the odor and noise challenges may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our guest services.

Thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thank you to Robert, the kind gentleman that checked us in on the third shift. We came in after driving for 24 hours and he couldn't have been nicer. He helped reserve my reservation, and gave me easy directions to our spacious, clean, comfortable room. We got a great night of sleep. The hotel is bigger than it looks, offering both an indoor and outdoor pool, a bar, and easily access able vending machines. The lobby is lovely, with a fireplace and a pretty water feature. What a great find!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Middletown

Address: 68 Crystal Run Road, Middletown, NY 10941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Middletown & Goshen have to offer at the convenient comfortable Holiday Inn, Middletown NY. You are at the heart of everything with shopping, dining and entertainment options nearby. You are within a short drive of Woodbury Commons Outlets, West Point Military Academy, Orange County Choppers & the Catskill Mountains.Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 15 miles from Stewart Airport (SWF) you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Middletown, NY to do. And there is easy access to Route 17, & Interstates 84 & 87.Whether you re coming to Middletown for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Middletown is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. All rooms also feature Refrigerators, Microwaves and personal in room safes. You can take a swim in our indoor & outdoor pools. Enjoy a workout in our Fitness. Relax with a cool one at the Crystal Run Bar & Grill. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at The Bavarian Garden. Start your day off in the morning with our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast. The best of Middletown is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Middletown-Goshen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.