We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round out your night at the Soho!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Bar & Grill

Soho Bar & Grill
14 Crystal Run Crossing, Middletown, NY
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 145 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Middletown, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Round out your night at the Soho!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A relatively new restaurant in the area we picked the Soho for dinner and drinks. Walking distance from the hotels, it turned out to be a good stop. Formerly the Blue Martini, they offered a happy hour and upscale dinner menu. The restaurant is divided with the bar/lounge as you enter . You can sit and enjoy great cocktails served by the very friendly staff and listen to live entertainment. During Happy hour(s), drinks were $2.00 off. You can sit and have dinner here or in one of the 2 additional dining areas. We ordered appetizers and dinner -- Don't miss out on the shrimp cocktail! Try the pork chops or steaks.
Average dinner items ranged from 17.00 -- 27.00

Entertainment for the Happy Hour was a solo performer with acoustic guitar. The gentleman was a very good singer and performer and we all enjoyed his selection of music.

Though I personally felt this was a more adult establishment versus the chain restaurants in the immediate area, I did see families with young children being seated in the side dining room away from the lounge area.

I plan on stopping here again and would recommend the Soho.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
“Good size martini”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Traveling thru the area and this was recommend by the hotel. Overall experience was okay Waitress was friendly and the floor manager continually checked on us. She did reset the thermostat as it was very cold in dinner area. Ordered the famous chicken and biscuits --not famous in our opinion. Chicken was very good, but the biscuits were dry with very little sauce and missing the peas and carrots. Beer selection is very limited. Sweet Italian sausage pannini was definitely sweet with no spices. If you like a very mild sausage, you will like this. Ordered a martini and they give you the shaker filled enough for a second drink!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is full of class and great food !! OMG I love the brunch they have on sundays, what a great selection of food and made to perfection. The Martinis are out of this world !! I suggest you try Hollywood nights or the berry bellini. The service is fantastic and the kitchen is open late for dinner . The decor is so tasteful and and on friday nights they have a wonderful DJ. I brought family and friends from Brooklyn and Jersey here and they all had no complaints and loved the food. Its the best place Middletown has seen in years

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Took a chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Glad we did. Strangely massive variety on the menu. Everything we tried was delicious and seemingly fresh. Drinks, apps, entrees and dessert- all served with attentive service. Supposedly they do brunch in the weekends. May have to try that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? I should have went with my first impression and walked out. The place was nearly empty and the hostess sat us and gave us the rattiest menus. They were very worn and mine was taped together! If u can't afford menus then just close the doors, which is was they need to do. Sweet potatoes fries were mushy and had a battering them,the nachos which were recommend by our waiter were the worst ever! The cheese was still in the grated from !! They never got hot enough to melt the cheese. Eew! My French onion soup tasted as if they dumped bottle of salt it it! I did send that back and lastly our ahi tuna appetizer was the grey like dirty dish water. So keep driving and pass and don't waste your appetite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soho Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Soho Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.