We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size martini” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Bar & Grill

Soho Bar & Grill
14 Crystal Run Crossing, Middletown, NY
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 145 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
“Good size martini”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Traveling thru the area and this was recommend by the hotel. Overall experience was okay Waitress was friendly and the floor manager continually checked on us. She did reset the thermostat as it was very cold in dinner area. Ordered the famous chicken and biscuits --not famous in our opinion. Chicken was very good, but the biscuits were dry with very little sauce and missing the peas and carrots. Beer selection is very limited. Sweet Italian sausage pannini was definitely sweet with no spices. If you like a very mild sausage, you will like this. Ordered a martini and they give you the shaker filled enough for a second drink!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is full of class and great food !! OMG I love the brunch they have on sundays, what a great selection of food and made to perfection. The Martinis are out of this world !! I suggest you try Hollywood nights or the berry bellini. The service is fantastic and the kitchen is open late for dinner . The decor is so tasteful and and on friday nights they have a wonderful DJ. I brought family and friends from Brooklyn and Jersey here and they all had no complaints and loved the food. Its the best place Middletown has seen in years

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Took a chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Glad we did. Strangely massive variety on the menu. Everything we tried was delicious and seemingly fresh. Drinks, apps, entrees and dessert- all served with attentive service. Supposedly they do brunch in the weekends. May have to try that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? I should have went with my first impression and walked out. The place was nearly empty and the hostess sat us and gave us the rattiest menus. They were very worn and mine was taped together! If u can't afford menus then just close the doors, which is was they need to do. Sweet potatoes fries were mushy and had a battering them,the nachos which were recommend by our waiter were the worst ever! The cheese was still in the grated from !! They never got hot enough to melt the cheese. Eew! My French onion soup tasted as if they dumped bottle of salt it it! I did send that back and lastly our ahi tuna appetizer was the grey like dirty dish water. So keep driving and pass and don't waste your appetite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wrong turn made right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We normally steer clear of restaurants that look "chain-ish," but we made a wrong turn looking for the mall and were hungry. The décor is really nice, spacious and friendly atmosphere, huge screen TV and a few smaller ones give you a view of whatever sporting event is happening. There is also a room where live, dining appropriate music was going on. Apparently, martinis are a biggie at the Soho and mine was very good. I had the sole special, my husband had the pasta and seafood (shrimp and scallops) special. His pasta was so good, he almost forgot to eat the seafood! The one scallop I snatched was wonderful! My sole was really good also. It came with real mashed potatoes and grilled veggies. Our meal was very good, much better than we expected! The price was much less than we'd have spend elsewhere for the same quality. It was a very family friendly atmosphere but couples and adult groups would not feel out of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soho Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Soho Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.