We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Milford, PA / New restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Sushi & Grill

Mr. Sushi & Grill
400 Route 211 East, Middletown, NY 10940
(845) 343-8788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 146 restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Close to Milford, PA / New restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wide range of sushi options with hibachi grill!

Great place to bring the family if you would like your first experience of sushi to be a pleasant and enjoyable time!

I read the reviews on Yelp which assisted in my choice of restaurants, and the reviews lived up to my expectations.

Hidden away in a shopping complex (GPS Directions are correct) - it is a hidden gem unless you are looking for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    18
    17
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun place to enjoy a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife enjoys the habachi places more than do I but occasionally it is fun to do something different and see a "show" while you are eating. I suspected this place was just like any other with the twirling knifes and flaming onion and we got that but we got even more. It seems they have a real thing for filling up the guests with Sake as well. Each of the chefs have a several squirt bottles of it on their cart and they are likely to break them out at any time and shoot Sake into your mouth while banging thir knifes on the grill...lots of it! If you are not up for it they will not press you but if you show an interst they will fill you up and my wife anI got more than our fair share. It was her Birthday so we overindulged a little.
The food was just above average as I dont ever really see the difference from one of these places to another in terms of the food. The soup seemed a little more flavorful than most and my wife said the Ginger dressing was better than the others in town she had tried. The meat was cooked well and the fired rice was flavorful as well.
You know that it is mostly about the show and this place is more interactive than most every other one I have een to in the past. Look for an interesting, but a good time if you choose to eat Hibachi here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sushi-- a ha moment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Heard about this place from a co- worker. It is hard to find good sushi, decided to give it a try. Had 2 rolls and japenese rice, definately was tasty! Definately, will have to also do take out.. There is a menu in my car for a quick pick up after work!! Nice place! Will go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So great went 2 nigts in a row”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I love good sushi & that's what you get at Mr. Sushi's. Love the rock shrimp as an appetizer and all of the rolls are great. When with my husband & friends on Friday night after work then again Sat. night with ny 19 year old daughter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow service..slow service..slow service..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went there this past Saturday..the waiter was slow and confused on how to take orders..they had like 6-8 full Hibatchi tables and only 2 chefs/cooks..ordered a hot appetizer came out cold..asked for dipping sauce for our dinner and had to ask like 4-5 times and only gave us barely anything..sorry but i would rather go to Fuji at the galleria...that place is on point

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Sushi & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Sushi & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.