We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Indian Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saffron
130 Dolson Ave, Playtogs Shopping Plaza, Middletown, NY 10940-6563
(845) 344-0005 ‎
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 146 restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Shenandoah, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stopped here because we were staying in a nearby motel. The service was perfect! White wine served perfectly chilled and priced reasonably. Appetizers were a tad spicy but delicious nevertheless. I had lamb biryani, my husband had rogan gosh. Both were absolutely delicious. The spices were subtle, not overwhelming. The service throughout was quick, polite and unobtrusive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    8
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Saffron serves delicious satisfying Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed a very satisfying dinner here. Nicely decorated and friendly staff made for a pleasant dining experience. A large bar offers many cocktails. The Paneer Tikka Masala with jasmin rice and mixed veggies was delicious. My husband enjoyed the Chicken Tikka Masala The Aloo Stuff Paratha was tasty but too greasy. The portions are large enough to share or take home for a yummy snack.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I go here often. They have a large selection on their buffet and the food is delicious. The waiters are friendly and the service is excellent. We've ordered off their regular menu at times and they have a lot to choose from.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Indian buffet I have had so far in this area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I don't know much about what goes into cooking the perfect Indian food. All I know is what I like and this place has a buffet that is almost as good as any I have tried. I like buffets as it give me the opportunity to try different dishes. I favor the Chicken tiki Marsala but will try just about anything they put out there. The buffet on the weekends tends to be better than that during the week. The staff is very friendly, which I have found us not always the case at other Indian food places. Prices are reasonable ($9.99 for weekday buffet). If you find yourself in Middletown around lunch time and like Indian food you should give them a try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Close to Authentic as you can get...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am not sure if people understand there are variations in Indian cooking. In India, every region has it's own way of cooking. There are many ways of cooking and using of the spices as there are languages in India. The common Indian restaurants in the USA are basically all cream, and sauce based (typically northern part of India) with not that many spices and they all taste the same.

South Indian cooking is very different, and it is very difficult to find a good South Indian restaurant. Saffron offers a lot of South Indian dishes, it is in these dishes you notice and taste the different spices and they do it very well. I am not a big fan of Indian restaurants, if you ate at one you have ate at them all. Saffron is different, good food in a nice clean environment.

I visit Middletown and drive up to 30 miles out of my way just to try the South Indian dishes here..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.