We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Marriott Long Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Marriott Long Island to your Saves list
Melville Marriott Long Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Old Walt Whitman Road, Melville, NY 11747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Riverhead, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Treated like royality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and the bride and groom booked this hotel for the wedding guests. From the minute we walked in the door to the moment we left the next day, we were treated like were we the only guest in the hotel. A friendly hello as we walked in the lobby and the most pleasant and friendly person to quickly check us in to our room. The hotel was busy with other wedding parties but the staff had check in running smoothy and housekeeping had the room ready. The hotel was a beautiful atrium with a pool, bar and plenty of seating to relax with family. The room was very clean with a refrig and a coffemaker. The Bistro breakfast buffet had nice fresh selection but on the smaller scale and maybe a few dollars over priced at $15.One family member left their wedding shoes after checking out and the hotel staff found them and held them for us. I've stayed in other hotels but have never been treated this nice. What a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The halls are long so if you have trouble walking request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    99
    61
    25
    16
See reviews for
73
43
21
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff could kill you with kindness, but the rooms are tiny and the bathroom even tinier. Also most rooms are windowless, but instead have glass sliders facing the open atrium. When I mentioned the tininess to the manager who just happened to be standing at the door as we were leaving, he offered me a whole bunch of Marriott points or a suite on my next stay as apology.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just visited family in Long Island in New York. We stayed for 2 nights. The staff and the facility itself were excellent. They put us away from the atrium which they admitted could get noisy on weekends with all the functions going on. It was a very large room and a super comfortable bed. When i return to visit family in the area We will definetly stay at the Marriott again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the atrium would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from a one night stay at the Melville Marriott Long Island. We called ahead and requested an early check in. The person on the phone was very kind and was able to accommodate our request. Once we arrived we were greeted by several of the staff. All of which were very friendly and asked if we needed help with anything. We requested a room change so that we could be close to another family member and there was availability so we were moved. I stayed in room 1063. The room itself is right off the lobby and away from the atrium area. It is located right across the vending area and ice machine, however, I did not hear any noise from people dispensing the ice. The decor of the room is nice and I have no complaints in regards to the room itself. It was clean and had what we needed. The bathroom decor was fine, however, there are several things that need updating/fixing. The glaze on the tub was peeling at several parts, there was no bath mat (I almost fell in the tub and to keep my daughter from slipping we put a hand towel on the bath tub floor to provide traction). The tile needs some regrouting throughout the bathroom, but it is clean. If I came back to this hotel, I would ask to stay in a similar room or in the same room if the tub/grout issues were fixed. Also, the bathroom had no vent. After showering we had to open the door in order to clear the mirror.

Another issue that I had with this particular visit was that the hotel had a group of elementary/middle school aged boys who played lacrosse staying at the hotel. These boys were running all over the hotel, tossing the lacrosse balls in the halls, atrium, in the gym (I was in there and told them to leave) and they almost hit my daughter with a ball when she was in the pool when they overshot it. The management did handle the disruptions well and tried their best to address the few parents and chaperones that ruined it for many by not supervising the children under their care. I would suggest to the management ask all children sports teams/leagues etc. that stay at the hotel to leave their sport equipment in a specific closet/room or in their cars.

The management and staff were great. They also gave us a late check out to compensate for the inconvenience that the lacrosse group created.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the atrium if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a three night stay here for a wedding, one of six group of weddings there. The hotel had a peculiar layout and not sure what we would have done in case of emergency. I think it would have been difficult to find a set of stairs close by.The hotel is large and has long hallways. If you have family members who can't walk far, you should make sure you request rooms closer to the lobby. It was a little awkward as a wedding party had their daily breakfast in the middle of the atrium every day, where all of the other guests could view their party. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, probably because there were so many people trying to figure out how to get to the six weddings that were going on near there that weekend. It's not a new place, but since I wasn't staying by the atrium, we got a quiet night's sleep and I gave it a 4 because of the staff

Room Tip: do not stay by the atrium if you can't walk well, make sure you aren't at the end of one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we staid for 3 nights for a wedding. We "moved" in with our 6 month old twins and arrived late at night after driving in. the staff was very very helpful and always friendly regarding requests. we did order room service breakfast which was great; room service lunch was okay. when I called to request our room be near a family member's room they were accommodating and when I mentioned we had twin boys and would like to be in a quieter area, they moved us away from the pool. they had a shuttle service that would take you to nearby places to run an errand (a friend of mine needed to stop by a convenience store and they took her their and back). felt that the room was updated enough. there is a mini fridge, but isn't that powerful, but they have a full fridge behind the front desk that they will store stuff for you - we had freezer/cooler packs that needed re-freezing and they happily did this for us.

Room Tip: choose a room that does not face the atrium for natural daylight and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Within the first 10 seconds I walking in we could tell that we had made the right choice to stay. We were greeted with a very friendly concierge who gave us free cucumber & lemon infused water while we checked in. Pool was amazing. Rooms were average. I think the best part of this hotel is the customer service you'll receive from the employees!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Address: 1350 Old Walt Whitman Road, Melville, NY 11747
Location: United States > New York > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Marriott Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.