We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"OVERRATED" There are better places close by.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center to your Saves list
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center
215 West Lake Road, Mayville, NY 14757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mayville
ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"OVERRATED" There are better places close by.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The rooms were nice and the hotel was clean but there was barely anyone staying there, so it should have been. With this said I would still never stay here again. After a weekend trip for a wedding we decided to extend our stay for a night of relaxation. The following morning we were meeting relatives for breakfast and kindly asked the front desk person for an extended check-out of 1 hour. She told me no. I politely asked why and she said there was an early check-in. I was a little confused because our car was one of three in the vast parking lot. When I arrived back in NY I sent the manager a personal email explaining the situation and my disappointment , I never got a reply. For being a new hotel in a seasonal area I would have expected better. I recommend Webb's Year-Round Resort down the street, the rest of our wedding party stayed there and loved it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    12
    12
    2
See reviews for
21
49
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
522 reviews 522 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Visiting here for a wedding on July 4th, we stayed here at a reduced wedding rate. It sits a mile from the downtown and also 1 mile from the Institution and directly across from the lake. It is quite a large place and a friendly staff. The rates generally were pretty reasonable anyway. Large lobby and shuttle service to the hot spots of the area. The rooms are set up a bit strange with an entry way sitting area and then a bedroom in the back of the room with two bathrooms. Very clean and looks fairly new or remodeled. The restaurant in the place serves up a free continental breakfast in which you can pay 6 bucks more to get eggs, homefries and french toast. I thought this was a bit cheap of the hotel to charge for this extra "hot" food since it wasn't that good anyway. In all this place wasn't a bad place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Seems that there are some problems with the accounting things . They tell you one thing and charge you another but don't have the decency to call or tell you face to face they just deduct matters out of your credit card and leave you to find out later. Over all it is a nice place . But the food sucks . Definitely needs new cooks. Beef was tough , and the rest was tasteless . Will never stay there again , If my company holiday party is held there next year I will definitely stay down the road at Webb's.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

This was our first time to the Chautauqua Lake area, and we weren't certain about where to stay. We made reservations at the last minute at the Chautauqua Suites, and it was a great decision.

The small hotel, situated across the road from Chautauqua Lake, is a wonderful value for a good amount of space. It seems to specialize in business conventions, but we enjoyed our stay as leisure travelers too.

In the suites there's, of course, a bedroom area - not large but adequate, and our queen-size bed was comfy. There's a bath with a shower off the bedroom as well a half-bath off a short, narrow hallway. The hallway is between the bedroom and a small living area which has a sleeper sofa and a nice desk with storage units to either side. There's a television in the bedroom as well as one in the living area. Internet connectivity, wired and wireless, was fine.

The suites and public areas of the hotel are attractive, and everything is spotless. There's a good continental breakfast included in the price. In the lobby there's fruit, tea, coffee and hot chocolate available all day - a nice touch! The town of Mayville with several restaurants is just up the road.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and look forward to returning to the area.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Chautauqua and Chautauqua Suites hotel – We made the short 2.5hr trip from NE Ohio to Lake Chautauqua and stayed Sat and Sun night. Our family of four (w/2 boys 12 and 10) recommend Chautauqua Suites hotel (“CSH”). Hotel Pros were: all staff were very friendly/helpful, especially at front desk providing ideas and directions, CSH is new and clean (1 yr old), reasonable rates, room configuration (two rooms and two bathrooms, not the most “roomy” layout but better than a standard room w/ 2 doubles), the complimentary trolley shuttle came in handy (especially when it took us to the symphony at the Chautauqua Institute Sat night…we did not have to deal with parking, and the Trolley driver was waiting for us after the concert to take us back to the hotel!)….and the kids enjoyed riding it, location was good for us, hotel was sold out(Sat) but certainly did not give you a crowded feel, free wi-fi in common areas or hard connection in room, nice lounge. Cons were: breakfast buffet at Olive’s was a bit disappointing, no swimming pool on the grounds (not a big deal to us since we had other activities planned). We would stay again.

What we did: Trail ride at Double DAB Stables (recommend for novice riders, $25pp cash only for 1 hr), Symphony at Chautauqua Institute (recommend, it was also an opportunity for us to see some of the Institute grounds), rented an 18’ power boat from Chautauqua Marina for tubing (folks at the marina were very helpful, this is not inexpensive but was the featured activity of our boys), hung out at Bemus Point (after taking the ferry across), miniature golf (next to Webb’s) and ice cream at Boxcar Barney’s (recommended). We wanted to stop by a winery to pick up a bottle or two on the way back to the hotel but most close at 5 or 6 on Sunday’s and we were too late. This morning (Monday) we plan to check-out and go hiking at Panama Rocks on the way home.

Overall, we thought that it was a good trip and recommend. We only had a few days but were able to pack in alot over a short time.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

The Chautauqua Suites is an excellent addition to Chautauqua County! It's brand new and very comfortable--even if it is a "work in progress". It is only about 10 minutes from Chautauqua Institution, just across from Chautauqua lake , two minutes from downtown Mayville and 15 minutes from Bemus Point. The suites are very accomodating. The room we stayed in had a king bed in a semi private room with an attached full bath (shower only). A small hallway seperated the living room from the bedroom. There was an additional half bath. The living room had the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever slept on! It was built more like a futon so there was no hard metal bar under the mattress(which was at least 4 inches thick!) My friend and I laughed ourselves silly trying to make the couch fold flat and finally gave up. We stopped at the front desk on our way out to dinner to ask for directions on how to get the couch flat. The desk clerk very kindly said she would send someone up to do it. When we returned, the sofa was completely transformed...complete with linens, duvet and 4 scrumptious
pillows! There was a nice flat screen TV in each area. In the morning there was a breakfast bar with coffee and pastries from the local bakery along with cereal and bagels. My croissant was yummy! I peeked in the conference room where an event was taking place and was surprised at how big it was.
I'd say my top reasons for staying at Chautauqua Suites again would be service, cleanliness, and location. My biggest complaint (albeit trivial) is that there was no place to sit outside and no pool/hot tub. It looks like they might be putting in a patio? There is an inner courtyard but who wants to be surrounded by brick when you're in a beautiful lakeside community? An Italian restaurant wil soon make its home there but it had not opened during our visit. There is a lounge as well but we didn't go there. All in all, I'd HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Long way to walk to room, no pool or hot tub
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center

Address: 215 West Lake Road, Mayville, NY 14757
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Mayville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chautauqua Suites is an all suites three diamond AAA rated hotel. Featuring Olive's restaurant, a northern Italian style (also AAA three diamond rated)and the fabulous Bellini lounge. Luxury appointments at a great value. Minutes from Chautauqua Institution, the hotel is in the center of the vacation region of Western New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting And Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Mayville
Chautauqua Hotel Meeting Expo Center
Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center Chautauqua County/Mayville, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chautauqua Suites, Meeting & Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.