We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House on the Hill

House on the Hill
186 S Erie St, Mayville, NY
(716) 753-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 17 restaurants in Mayville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Food was delicious. Decor is very nice - open and airy.
Service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    3
    2
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“House rolls down the hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This used to be a great place for lunch & breakfast but I would not go there again.
View & setting is still wonderful but the food is like any greasy spoon. Menu selections are very limited. It's always weird to walk into a once very popular restaurant to find it almost empty.
They won't survive unless food & menu improves a ton!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch in Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place has a panini that is outstanding!!! A great way to relax and enjoy a moment away from the "Lake Activities"

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Revisited and greatly improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had been to House on the Hill in the past....and it suffered from spotty service and food.
Not so for this season... The food is really great, fresh and generously portioned plus the service couldn't be better. I can't wait to eat there again. Yes it's slightly more expensive than the mom and pop breakfast and lunch places, but it's got ambiance and higher end cuisine so it's worth it (IMO).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good breakfast beautiful decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Looks like a B&B very clean and beautiful decor . An awesome view of Chautauqua Lake. We sat inside deck for outside sitting available. We went Sunday morning opens at 10 am. The service was a bit slow but I think training taking place early in the season. We each had quiche three onion mushroom and ham, served with a fruit cup and yogurt dip. Reasonable portion I guess a bit pricey for the area $9 plus $2 for a side of toast. I guess reasonable for a seasonable place maybe I am bit bit spoiled by the local Diners that serve breakfast and lunch only. Mayville is a nice little and historic town close to wine country and Amish farms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House on the Hill also viewed

Mayville, Chautauqua County
Mayville, Chautauqua County
 
Mayville, Chautauqua County
Mayville, Chautauqua County
 

Been to House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.