We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Nights of Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shinn Estate Farmhouse to your Saves list
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2000 Oregon Road, Mattituck, NY 11952   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 Nights of Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

By the time we arrived at Shinn Estate we had already spent a whirlwind 13 days in Manhattan and Washington DC (and had drived from JFK!) so by the time we arrived we were ready to relax and slow down. We found the right place.
From the moment you walk in the farmhouse feels friendly and inviting.
We stayed in the treehouse room with a great view of the chickens - which do provide for hours of amusement!
David's breakfasts were absolutely divine, and meant we never needed lunch! Barbara was really friendly and kind, always offering up interesting suggestions for places to see. Barbara very helpfully organised us onto a winery tour the next day, which was wonderful. She is also a really interesting person to talk to if you're interested in the vineyard and their practices. We really appreciated the time she took to take us on a tour of the vineyard, what they have done and created at Shinn is very special indeed.
There is nothing I could fault with Shinn Estate, the room was lovely and always immaculately serviced, and surprisingly considering it is a farmhouse the rooms were warm and cozy - which considering the -2 degree celcius weather was needed!
It is a farmhouse and there are only 4 rooms, so when people are coming and going there is some noise, but we found everyone we met at Shinn Estate were friendly and considerate. If you're not keen on having to talk to strangers over wine and cheese in the evening or breakfast in the morning then perhaps its not the place for you, but we actually really enjoyed meeting new people and we got some good tips off the other guests on places to see as well.
We absolutely loved our stay at Shinn Estate and we look forward to coming back! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    23
    5
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I like to visit the Northfork a few times a year but this was the first time we were able to stay at Shinn Estate. The staff was friendly, the rooms beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area. My one and only critique is that the breakfast is served at only one specific time. I would be nice to have a time frame in which to come down to breakfast rather than being told the one time it will be served. I know that this is a small establishment where everyone works on the farm, vineyard or tasting room but taking a vacation should allow for a little leisure. But that is only a small criticism. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our first experience was so great at Shinn that we went there again this year. We had a different room than our first visit and it was a fun change. Instead of a view of the fields, we had a view of the chickens (very fun to watch). The wine and cheese each day was delicious, almost as good as breakfast. I don't have any other B&Bs to compare it to, because I can't see how the others could be any better. On top of all this, we left a draw full of clothing after check out and Barbara was so kind as to contact us and ship it to us immediately. Centrally located to the other vineyards, highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "tree house" and "vineyard west"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Every detail of our stay at the Shinn farmhouse was carefully considered and beautifully chosen. The decor is modern and pleasing; the bed was extremely comfortable; the place looks and feels welcoming in every way. And the gourmet breakfast preparations were worth planning around -- when "breakfast risotto" is the third-most exciting thing on the plate (after the sunny-side-up duck egg and house-cured bacon), someone's doing something very special. The complimentary tasting at the winery, the wine and cheese in the sitting room each afternoon, the high quality of the toiletries in the rooms -- no shortcuts are taken, no opportunities missed. The hosts have pulled off the near-impossible: Do everything right, without making it fussy. Don't think -- GO.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend discovering the North Fork of Long Island and the Shinn Estate was the perfect place to stay. The farmhouse was comfortable, stylish and thoughtfully set up, with every need anticipated. The hospitality of everyone at the farm was second to none, and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to when we checked out.
Breakfast was delicious and served to all guests around the farmhouse table, giving us time to chat to fellow guests and swap details of our plans for the day and exchange tips on where to go.
I would not hesitate recommending a stay here to friends and family

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Shinn Estate is an impressive, unexpected inn and winery on quiet Oregon Road, a secluded section of small-town North Fork that feels like a secret you almost don't want to reveal. The owners have accomplished a great feat in making an 1860s farmhouse look and feel modern, while retaining a lived-in homeyness that made us feel instantly relaxed. This isn't the cliche B&B with flowery wallpaper, rooms named after ship captains, and doilies galore -- and that's largely why we chose it. That, and the price, which is better than most other B&Bs in the area, including the kitschy properties. The breakfast was interesting, varied, and surprisingly healthy for a B&B, and the owners are helpful and hospitable without ever hovering. We biked there from downtown Mattituck, stopping at a few other vineyards along the way, and the 24 hours we were there felt like many more -- in the best of ways. If you go, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Fields room, with windows overlooking a farm field to the north and shaded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a great weekend at Shinn Farmhouse. We had read a few of the negative comments on this site regarding the lack of warmth or friendliness from the staff, but staying at a vineyard was intriguing enough to give it a shot. So glad we did. The staff was great in every way. We were welcomed in the winery tasting room and immediately sat down to a complementary tasting in which we received generous pours of all 9 wines available. Our room was modern, tasteful and comfy (also had its own central AC climate control, a rarity in small inns in our experience). Fresh cookies were found in our room each day, and open bottles of red and white as well as a cheese plate awaited us each afternoon in the farmhouse's communal reading room. Breakfast each day was incredible. Local eggs prepared expertly, and by local I mean the chickens are running around the yard, as well as fresh scones, breads, duck hash. I found the owners, Barbara and David, to be friendly and welcoming, but keep in mind, this is a serious winery, and it is their primary focus. That's not to say we felt ignored, far from it, but there are not countless staff members waiting around to cater to your every whim. If you're looking for someone to kiss up to you day and night, this is probably not the place for you. For those looking for a tasteful, comfortable inn in a beautiful, peaceful setting with great food, warm hosts and a top notch winery right downstairs, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Address: 2000 Oregon Road, Mattituck, NY 11952
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinn Estate Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.