We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar House on Sound B&B

Save Saved
You added Cedar House on Sound B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar House on Sound B&B
4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect place for a fun weekend of wine tasting. Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts, very warm and welcoming and make a fantastic breakfast. The B&B is clean and cosy with all modern amenities you could possibly want. Dave did a wine tasting at night of his wines and encourages guests to socialize together. Also they are very knowledgable about the surrounding vineyards and provide tons of discounts for tastings.
Overall lovely getaway from the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Dave and his staff were extraordinarily welcoming throughout our stay, also accommodating our last minute reservation and late arrival without a blink. The place is spacious, rustic, clean, a unique blend of farm and winery, refreshingly unpretentious. Breakfast was generous, hearty and truly creative. We had a great time and certainly made the right choice for our spontaneous mid-week getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dave and Donna and the enitre staff (Heidi included) made our "Minimoon" experience unforgettable. From the quality of the rooms (modern and spacious) to helping us out with any reservations or requests, they really apply their knowledge of the hospitality business and truly love what they do. And they love applying a "Food Network" quality to breakfast, adjusting for food allergies or restrictions: multigrain french toast with berry-mint reduction, twice-baked potato with peppers, spinach, cheese, and poached eggs, and poached eggs on smokey portabello mushrooms with sweet and regular potato medley (these are just the ones we tried). Hanging out in the living room with wine and good company is a nice way of winding down after dining out. And to those concerned with the noise coming from these gatherings, we're pretty sure that's nothing that can't be dealt with by asking politely to respect your rest.
Anyway, this is NOT a fake review, we had a wonderful time and we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband received a gift certficate to Cedar House for his 60th birthday from his children. Not knowing what to expect, we headed out for a two night stay during the week. What a pleasant surprise! We were greeted by Dave and immediately felt at home. Our first afternoon there consisted of a long walk and a bottle of wine from the Cedar House vineyard. Our room was private, comfortable, clean, and perfect! We enjoyed shooting pool in the great room, the fabulous breakfasts that Dave prepared, with help from Rick the manager, and the wine tasting that turned into a party. We enjoyed being greeted by Heidi, the dog on our returns to Cedar House. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to turning this into an annual event!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was spending a couple of days exploring the East End with my boyfriend, and I wanted to bring him somewhere special once we reached the North Fork. Everyone that I knew living nearby recommended, hands down, that we stay at Ceder House.

It was probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

The house, a renovated old barn, is absolutely stunning. But it's as functional as it is beautiful. In the common area there is a pool table, a pub table and large comfortable couches. Our room was spotless and very large, despite being only the mid-size option, with a king sized bed and brand new bathroom. Outside there is a fire pit and chairs, which apparently are open to the guests, although we didn't make use of them.

Being located on Scarola Vineyards, we had a fantastic view of the fields from our room. Included was a wine tasting and vineyard tour, and we also received a discount card for use at local wineries and other places. A delicious home-cooked breakfast was served in kitchen area.

Dave and Donna were knowledgeable, friendly and inviting. They were outstanding hosts and really made us feel at home. This is not your traditional B&B. It was an exciting and fun stay that felt more like a getaway home away from home than anything else. I can't wait to come back again.

If I could give Cedar House ten stars, I would. Don't hesitate to book here, it's an outstanding value.

Room Tip: The vineyard suites are on the distant end of the house near the outdoor area and pool table, and aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay to celebrate our 25th anniversary in wine country. Cedar House was beyond fantastic; new, spotless, spacious, beautiful rooms, awesome woodwork, fine decor, comfortable great room with a pool table, cozy wine tasting room with an outdoor fire pit, complimentary wine tasting at 6:30, fabulous two-course breakfast, a very homey atmosphere. Donna made great suggestions of wineries to visit & helped plan our day, giving us a discount card to use almost everywhere we went. David arranged for our dinner reservations at a local restaurant, Amanos, and made one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, twice baked potatoes with a hint of sausage, baked with a medley of cheeses, topped with poached eggs.. David & Donna's hospitality was outstanding; they are warm and friendly,truly made us feel at home. We most certainly will go back to Cedar House again & again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've travelled the world and this is the best B&B that I have ever stayed at - by far. Steve and his wife are gracious hosts and have really built something truly spectacular. Amazing location, great set up and some of the best breakfast that I've ever had. Great for couples getaway. Fire pit in the back yard, vineyard on premises and just super easy to check in/out etc. Highly recommmended!! Also, try Saide Hawkins close by for dinner prepared by the former chef at the White House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Address: 4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cedar House on Sound B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar House on Sound B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.