We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the East End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar House on Sound B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattituck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar House on Sound B&B
Save Saved
You added Cedar House on Sound B&B to your Saves list
4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Shirley, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Best B&B on the East End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was spending a couple of days exploring the East End with my boyfriend, and I wanted to bring him somewhere special once we reached the North Fork. Everyone that I knew living nearby recommended, hands down, that we stay at Ceder House.

It was probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

The house, a renovated old barn, is absolutely stunning. But it's as functional as it is beautiful. In the common area there is a pool table, a pub table and large comfortable couches. Our room was spotless and very large, despite being only the mid-size option, with a king sized bed and brand new bathroom. Outside there is a fire pit and chairs, which apparently are open to the guests, although we didn't make use of them.

Being located on Scarola Vineyards, we had a fantastic view of the fields from our room. Included was a wine tasting and vineyard tour, and we also received a discount card for use at local wineries and other places. A delicious home-cooked breakfast was served in kitchen area.

Dave and Donna were knowledgeable, friendly and inviting. They were outstanding hosts and really made us feel at home. This is not your traditional B&B. It was an exciting and fun stay that felt more like a getaway home away from home than anything else. I can't wait to come back again.

If I could give Cedar House ten stars, I would. Don't hesitate to book here, it's an outstanding value.

Room Tip: The vineyard suites are on the distant end of the house near the outdoor area and pool table, and aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
97
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay to celebrate our 25th anniversary in wine country. Cedar House was beyond fantastic; new, spotless, spacious, beautiful rooms, awesome woodwork, fine decor, comfortable great room with a pool table, cozy wine tasting room with an outdoor fire pit, complimentary wine tasting at 6:30, fabulous two-course breakfast, a very homey atmosphere. Donna made great suggestions of wineries to visit & helped plan our day, giving us a discount card to use almost everywhere we went. David arranged for our dinner reservations at a local restaurant, Amanos, and made one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, twice baked potatoes with a hint of sausage, baked with a medley of cheeses, topped with poached eggs.. David & Donna's hospitality was outstanding; they are warm and friendly,truly made us feel at home. We most certainly will go back to Cedar House again & again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've travelled the world and this is the best B&B that I have ever stayed at - by far. Steve and his wife are gracious hosts and have really built something truly spectacular. Amazing location, great set up and some of the best breakfast that I've ever had. Great for couples getaway. Fire pit in the back yard, vineyard on premises and just super easy to check in/out etc. Highly recommmended!! Also, try Saide Hawkins close by for dinner prepared by the former chef at the White House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for just one night and we are already planning our next trip. We stayed in the master suite and let me just say it was the cleanest and nicest place I have ever stayed in. The bathrooms were spotless. The rooms were decorated amazingly. The bed was soooo comfortable. Right when we arrived we met with Dave and Rick and felt welcome immediately. They wanted our stay to be perfect in every way. Dave asked us what kind of food we were looking to have for dinner and had a great suggestion for any choice we would have made. He instantly whipped out his cell phone and we had a reservation in 5 minutes. I might also add that because of his connections we were able to eat an hour earlier than if we had called ourselves. Let me just say we saw a very famous actor at this place as well. Before dinner we had a wine tasting which was basically a fun time where the guests, Rick and Dave all shared funny stories and just chatted. They own their own winery and allowed you to try some of their homegrown wines which were really good. It honestly was like hanging out with all of your good friends with a bottle of wine. Later that night after dinner we all sat out back around a fire and once again just relaxed with some wine. The breakfast in the morning was amazing. There are only a few guests at a time so one might think that they would have some limited selections when it comes to certain things. Not the case. There were I think 6 different fresh juices to choose from as well as about 10 different tea choices and plenty of coffee. The meal looked so good that we took pictures if that tells you anything. Dave knows the area well so if you want to do anything fun in the area like winery tours, sailing, hiking or just going to the beach he has the hook-up. They have beach passes to the local area. Now remember, we only stayed one night but prior to leaving we hugged Rick, Donna and Dave before leaving because we truly felt like we had become friends in that short time. I highly recommend this place and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We took a "mini" break out to Mattituck and had such a wonderful experience at the Cedar House. Dave made the most delicious french toast I have ever had! He and Donna and Rick really made us feel at home and delighted us with great stories. Heidi, their beautiful german shepard, was a delight. The wines were fantastic too! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hubby and I only have Mondays off, so we called Cedar house up to see if they could accommodate us for a Monday night.

We arrive early in the morning and there was a very nice gentleman who opened the door for us and greeted us. He let us into this beautiful house and directed us to our room. After we put in our stuff breakfast was served. David (one of the owners) had cooked up a double baked potato for us which was delicious.

We stayed at the courtyard 2. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable too. The one thing I can say is that the pictures of the website do not do this place justice...

We were offered beach passes and passes to near by vineyards. We decided to go to Lenz (you get a free tasting for 2 when you stay at Cedar). We came back to the house at around 6pm to do a free tasting at the Cedar house as well.

The staff is very very friendly and accommodating. Everything was simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had two nights here in early July to finish off our US holiday before driving back to JFK.

The B&B has been recently renovated with great care and attention. There's a big games room/lounge to relax in, a bar at the back for wine tasting and garden at the back overlooking the vineyard.

Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are fantastic. It really was a home from home.

Oh, and Dave - if you read this, if a guest asks if the roads will be busy on the 4th July morning for a drive to JFK, just say 'No' :) It only took us 90 minutes and hardly another car on the roads.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Address: 4850 Sound Ave., Mattituck, NY 11952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar House on Sound B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.